We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Fludha Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fludha Guest House
Ranked #1 of 14 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, Sunday and Monday. First impressions were very positive. We were greeted warmly and shown our room which was perfect in every way. We walked into the town and ate at a local pub restaurant which was so good we returned the next night. Breakfast at Fludha was probably the best breakfast I have eaten at a guest house/hotel. All produce was of a high quality and perfectly cooked. All in all a very relaxing stay and we will definitely return. Thank you Jackie for a great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grubgobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had read good reviews about this guest house and booked online with booking confirmed. On arriving after a long journey, we were met by the owner of the guest house who was very surprised to see us. Apparently a manageress handles the bookings. The owner was able to confirm the online booking and contacted the manageress by phone. She spoke to us on the phone and said that she had sent an email cancellation the day before and was at a funeral some distance away. On checking later, this was not the case - no email, not even in the spam folder. Cancellation the day before would not have been acceptable anyway!
The owner was not prepared for guests but very kindly offered to put on the heating and accommodate us anyway. He then found us alternative accommodation very close by, which was excellent.
Unable to rate our stay as it didn't happen! Do not want to harm the owner's ratings so will rate highly as the situation was not of his making and he did all he could to help.
Lesson to be learned - be very sure that your booking has not been cancelled without your knowledge!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank katieb110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had another stay one year after our first visit had to be cut short. Nothing has changed, its as good now as it was then. The rooms are perfect...and we had a differant one this time, and they both excel in a slightly differant way if you know what I mean. The food fantastic and the service as always, warm and welcoming. An ideal base for sightseeing, and we did enough of that. Its a place with a special meaning for us, and thank god its such a "special" place.

Room Tip: Each room is differant. We intend to try them all, as they all have something to offer that another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank five55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We only stayed one night in this lovely house but this was enough to encourage us to return. Jackie was a delightful host, efficient and informative. The room was beautifully appointed and the bed very comfortable. We will certain recommend Fludha to our friends and guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I've stayed in Kirkcudbright on many occasions over the past 20 years and only just discovered Fludha. We only stayed one night but were very impressed with the house and furnishings. Our room (6) had quality bed linens and a very comfortable bed. The shower room was small but perfectly adequate for our needs with shower products provided. Tea, coffee, biscuits and wee chocolates are in the room.

Breakfast was fantastic - extensive choice, and delicious fresh fruit and yogurt.

The house is on a raised setting and we had a view looking down the river. Very quiet and peaceful! There's a river walk out to Tongland bridge just opposite the driveway. We also walked into town for dinner (approx. a mile), it's a straight, level road in so you don't have to take your car if you like the exercise.

Jackie is a friendly host and obviously takes pride in providing great service and attention to detail. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for 5 days, the breakfast in morning was outstanding, and the evening meals when done were second to none. I would stay here again much better than the Selkirk arms and better value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmackenzie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a one night stay at Fludha Guest House and were delighted by the lovely house and beautiful gardens. Our room was very comfortable with fabulous views. Jackie was warm and welcoming and gave us lots of great advice on places to visit. Good choice of breakfast - delicious!

Room Tip: Room five for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kershaw04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkcudbright hotels
1.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#4 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
80 reviews
1 mi away
The Marks
The Marks
#12 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fludha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fludha Guest House

Address: Fludha Tongland Road, Kirkcudbright DG6 4UU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Hotel Class:5 star — Fludha Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2007 Fludha became the first Guest House or b&b in Dumfries and Galloway to be awarded 5 Stars by the Scottish Tourist Board. Today we still offer our unique 5 Star accommodation and service to the discerning traveler. Fludha stands in a prestige position overlooking the River Dee, Kirkcudbright Town and Galloway Hills beyond. Fludha's 5 Star accommodation is here to ensure you make the very best of your break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fludha Guest House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing