We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful site for a getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solway View Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful site for a getaway”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful stay here in June. Absolutely beautiful site with views you couldn't put a price on. The wigwam was clean, toilet and shower area spotless, a fresh supply of drinking water available, picnic benches and BBQ area at your pitch and also a kitchen complete with utensils to allow for indoor cooking. Owners were both friendly and helpful and there was so much to keep our two sons entertained, they especially loved watching the tractors. It's a beautiful site and we hope to visit again soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stunning views, ample room for your pitch, excellent well maintained and clean facilities. Your own picnic bench and fire pit. To top it all, a welcoming and accommodating owner.

Shhhhh, don't tell anyone. This campsite deserves to remain a well kept secret.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank B_Thurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend for a family get-together, we were in our caravan and the rest of the group were in the wigwams. A beautiful site with lovely views, clean, hot showers and a very handy cooking hut where we could all eat together when the weather wasn't so good! The pitches are large and all have their own picnic bench and barbecue. The owners were very friendly and helpful, thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our third visit to solway and each time out party has become larger. We tell everybody it's our 'happy place' the views, surroundings, coziness, cleanliness everything is just perfect. Lots of things to do in the area plan days out before you arrive you won't be disappointed! Great place so glad we have found it will be returning as always. Thank you :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marvel1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are new to camping so this site was ideally small, friendly and had excellent facilities. My son and I stayed for two nights at the beginning of August and the pitches were certainly very spacious, giving enough privacy from your 'neighbours'. With each pitch having a fire pit, we enjoyed our second evening warming by the fire after dinner. The shower/toilet block appears to be quite new so it was very clean and adequate, although I did not spot the hairdrier facility, maybe I just didn't look hard enough! But it does state in the description that there is. Overall, an enjoyable couple of days and we will certainly be returning soon. Thankyou Solway View ☺

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Avrilgordon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from our 3 night stay in a Wigwam. Lovely welcome by the owner with lots of helpful tips on the local area. We had nice weather and visited the nearby beach which was great and the play park on site kept the kids busy in the evening. The shower block and cooking barn were always clean. Fantastic site in a good area with plenty to do close by.

Room Tip: Wigwams with the toilets are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a one night stay and wish we'd stayed longer, we'll definately be back.Beautiful views and each pitch has a picnic bench and fire pit (the owners supply a decent size bag of logs for £6 if needed). The site is extremely clean and well mantained and feels very safe and the owners are very pleasant and informative. We enjoyed a lovely walk through the woods and past an old cemetry to a little bay where we had a great time skimming stones then back to the site to roast marshmallows on the fire..just perfect.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ohsunshinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
3.8 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
470 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
#2 of 6 in Kirkcudbright
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
628 reviews
19.2 mi away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 10 in Newton Stewart
276 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway View Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway View Holidays

Property: Solway View Holidays
Address: Balmangan Farm | Ross Bay, Borgue, Kirkcudbright DG6 4TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solway View Holidays are located with great sea views. Providing ideal destination for individuals, couples, small groups and families to enjoy holidays and short breaks. Solway View Wigwams Camping Pods are a great way to enjoy the great outdoors with comfort camping all year round. Sleeping up to 5 people with home comforts included - like heating! We also welcome Tourers, Caravans, Folding Campers and Tents. All pitches are very spacious and campfires are allowed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway View Holidays Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing