We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheerful”

Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely pub restaurant with cheerful staff that we visited on a recent trip to this lovely little town. Food is served in a 'snug' which is separate from the main bar which is pleasingly quiet. The food is nice, though nothing to really rave about. Well, that is until you get to the sticky toffee pudding which I had for dessert which was simply gorgeous!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouringGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    37
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice lunch ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We decided to go for a bit of lunch in Kirkcudbright and was recommended by friends to visit the Bay. We were not disappointed. The food was great and at a reasonable price too. The service we received was brilliant as well, very helpful and cheery.

Helpful?
Thank IJS1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Festive Fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lovely pre-Christmas lunch. Tasty food presented well on hot plates. Table a little small for party size but not so to spoil the meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank susiequeue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“top class food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

the food is really good,with a very good choice,theres a specials board each night .the young blonde waitress could look more interested and maybe smile a bit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zozie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“decent food, miserable service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We called in to eat here on the Sunday night after the Local Tattoo and as the town was still very busy the restaurant was full that night. The charming lady who greeted us suggested we book for another evening and so we did. Her welcome on that occasion was so warm that we were optimistic of a great night when we returned the following day.

Sadly the warm & friendly lady was off when we ate at the Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel and we were instead greeted by the most miserable waitress it has been my misfortune to be served by. Our table was pointed out to us and we were left to our own devices before the menus were brought over by a young boy. When the miserable one returned, she had a tatty, dirty tea towel draped over her arm and with no mention of the specials board she took our orders and without any niceities off she went.

When the food arrived it was decent enough, fairly generous portions, well prepared and presented. My only criticism of my starter would be that half a slice of brioche toast isn't enough with the very nice home made pate. Miserable waitress begrudgingly brought me another half a slice when I asked for it.

I can't really say we enjoyed our meal as the miserable waitress spoiled our evening, her manner was bordering on rude and sadly that's our overriding memory of the evening.

At £20 each for 2 courses and a couple of drinks I wouldn't call it cheap but at least I saved a few quid on the tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dprkphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel also viewed

Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing