We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belfry Cafe

The Belfry Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: British, Soups, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Belfry Cafe offers a range of breakfasts, brunch and lunch options from snacks to main meals plus a good selection of scones, tray bakes and cakes plus excellent Matthew Algie coffee. Children's menu available. Free Wifi, newly refurbished toilets, baby change, high chair and plenty of reading material available.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

On a recent visit to Kirkcudbright we stumbled across the Belfry. We were extremely impressed by the level of service and quality of food on the menu. We were made to feel very welcome, and really enjoyed our meal, which was well cooked and very reasonably priced. We can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent café”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a very pleasant surprise to find this excellent café in the town. Would not have expected such a nice place to eat. Service and everything very good

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JungerSchwung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I popped in for coffee and cake one late afternoon. Excellent coffee and delicious cake freshly made that morning. Very pleasant outlook with lots of natural light from big windows on two sides of the room. Very clean. Nice atmosphere..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petered101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New look great menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in today to kill some time and get my two girls some lunch. Aged 5 and 2. The service was friendly and very efficient. Extra care for the children's needs were observed without asking really...such as half portion of soup and cooling it down with cream. Menu looked so interesting my appetite rumbled and I chose Herby burger. Beautifully presented. Tasty! Place is fresh and neat. Not the greasy spoon it was before (not that its previous existence was bad...it was always a nice wee cafe but badly ventilated and no loo) now it is lovely...fresh ventilation and a loo for use by customers. Definitely go back. The one neg review on here is a one off I reckon.

Helpful?
Thank Susi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Popped in for lunch, on a whim, to see what the newly refurbished cafe was like. Lovely choice on menu. Coffee great. Lunch was beautifully presented and the omelette perfect. The cakes looked delicious, but too full to order! Surroundings very clean.Will definitely go again.
One suggestion, a choice of daily soup please. Oxtail is not to everyone's taste and definitely no good for vegetarians. Otherwise great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belfry Cafe also viewed

Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Belfry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing