We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Wonderful accommodation, special location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

river view from sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
river view from sitting room
marina from jetty bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
41 reviews
river view from sitting room
marina from jetty
bedroom 1
through the porthole
dining area
kitchen and dining
kitchen
Boathouse in winter from marina
double bedroom 2
twin bedroom
one of three shower rooms
shower room 2
patio
2nd sittingroom /sofa bedroom
from the river
house and jetty
high tide
bedroom
autumn view
sunset
jetty
crocus display
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ian G
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation, special location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The three bedrooms and 2 lounges all have a view direct on to the tidal estuary. The three bathrooms each have a loo and a shower. The Co-op supermarket is less than 5 minutes walk away. It's a very bright, comfortable and convenient dwelling and is an excellent place to unwind.
Our 3 night stay inevitably seemed too brief, and we would love to return, but with all these entirely justified 5-star reviews, I fully expect demand to grow...

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location alongside tidal estuary; layout incl 3 bedrooms,3 bathrooms and 2 lounges
Liked least: All good really - OK, I couldn't work out how to correct the clock on the cooker, but...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your short break. The summer weeks do get booked up quite quickly and we generally do short breaks from Nov. to March only but occasionally we accept them in summer. Keep an eye on the News and Offers page of the Boathouse website for details.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelGla...
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The thrill of the tides is mesmerising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The boathouse is stunning.
Right in the centre of Kirkcudbright, tucked away down a narrow pend (private lane) with back courtyard and a terrace virtually on the River Dee it is full of drama. At low tide the banks of the River Dee display their subtle contours of mud and the multitude of feeding waders who seize their chance to feed at low tide. At high tide the river is nearly up to the terrace and the members of the fishing fleet, of mostly scallop dredgers, seize their opportunity to leave the harbour to fish at sea, passing close by the windows of the Boathouse.
With three bedrooms and a sofa bed in a second living room, together with one en-suite bathroom and two other bathrooms it really is accommodation in comfort for 8 people.
I would like to go back again and again.
Isabel Glasgow

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. The tides are indeed mesmerising whatever the weather. Our newly refurbished jetty is the ideal place to sit out and observe river life. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zippy7jaf...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in Kirkcudbright”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Walking along the High Street of Kirkcudbright you'll never spot the Boathouse. But walk down a side alley and it will open up to a court yard and the aptly named holiday let, sitting on the river. The views are spectacular and on our winter break it was lovely returning to the warm, cosy house to enjoy the views and even lighting the chiminiere on the riverfront balcony to enjoy the night skies. It was such a surprise to find that this idyllic setting was also just minutes away from the local shops and when we return again we'll bear in mind that even though it might feel we're miles from anywhere all the conveniences we would need are reasonably priced at the local supermarket and other shops. The fish and chip shop- Polar Bites was a treat and had a fabulous selection on its menu.
It's not often cleanliness is mentioned other than when its a problem but it was noticeable how spotless everything in the house was. It is also extremely well equipped and everything you might need if you're planning on eating in- we cooked a Sunday dinner for seven without running out of pans, plates, serving dishes etc. and it is obvious that Shona, the owner has done everything she can to make anyone's stay a real home from home experience.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad to hear that you had a great winter weekend break and that you were able to enjoy the views from the jetty even at night by the heat of the chimenea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklyOn...
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal for a family that want more than a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We needed a base to visit nearby family. Our party was grandparents, us and our children aged 7 and 4. Fantastic attention to detail here and our boys soon found the toy bags and loved them. The morning views in particular for us were rather nice (two photographers in our family group!) Highly recommend, ample space (photos don't do it justice it's really rather large!) Simply gorgeous!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: lights in the passageway not on for the first trip down the passageway to the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
Thank you for your speedy review. Sounds like the Boathouse was ideal for your 3 generations of family. It's useful to have lots of space especially in winter when the days are short. Glad to hear the toys were popular!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFK66
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Property and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Lovely property, perfect for a relaxing break.

The views are amazing and we got completely lost watching the tides, fishing boats and
wildlife. The weather was perfect and we took full advantage of the balcony with a cold glass of wine.

The Boathouse had everything we needed in terms of comfort and space, we had a bathroom each! The little details of crab lines even came in useful and we did catch quite a few! Leo our boxer, loved watching the boats coming and going and it was perfect for him, with the safety of not being able to get out.

The town itself had everything we wanted and its a credit to the people who live there on the upkeep and cleanliness of the houses and streets. Everyone we met could not be more helpful and friendly. The Polarbites fish and chip shop lived up to its reviews and the food at the Selkirk was delicious. We found a few great pubs with beer gardens and dogs were very welcome.

We can't wait to come back with more friends.

Thank you once again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the house and the town. Glad to hear you all enjoyed the jetty (including the dog!)and that the fishing lines got some use. We have been sitting out on the jetty recently - mid November. With the chimenea lit it's just about warm enough even late at night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkleyrac...
ilkley
Level Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a lovely house, very clean and lots of space. Nice big yard so if you bring bikes as there is the No.7 route going straight past the door, however there was loads of good routes and quiet roads in either direction. The coop is 2 mins away and Tesco 5 mins so no need really to worry about shopping. Lots of art galleries and nice cafes. Great place to chill , read and catch up .

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2013
Your review is much appreciated. Thank you for letting cycling enthusiasts know that Kirkcudbright is a great place for biking and that the Boathouse yard is suitable for leaving bikes when not in use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aileen t
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Felt we had to comment on how wonderful our stay was at the boathouse. From the minute we booked the service etc. was the best we could hope for. When we arrived we weren't disappointed. The place was idyllic. The views are stunning, spending your day watching the tide come and go. Plenty to see in the town, museums, art galleries, little independent shops etc. The house had everything we needed and more(3 bathrooms!!)and was very well looked after. Hopefully we will return to Kirkcudbright but we think The Boathouse has spoilt us from looking for any other holiday let.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: the access at night though torches were provided
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
We very much appreciate your very generous review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your autumn break. October is a lovely month to be at the Boathouse as you can still sit out on the jetty and view the autumn colours at their best. And if you are unlucky enough to get some rain, there's plenty of room to spread out inside and enjoy the storm!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing