We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Kirkcudbright VisitScotland Information Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just dropped in here, looking for advice about where to have dinner in Kirkcudbright and the staff were pleasant and helpful. They recommended a great place that we wouldn't have gone to otherwise.

There is also plenty of free parking and public toilets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a treat....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Tourist Information centre in Kirkcudbright is an Aladdin's Cave of hidden gems! Many gifts to choose from; from quirky magnets to beautiful necklaces made from heather stems. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Such an array of places and attractions to visit too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Informative but brusque”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We did ask a very general question when we entered the information centre, "what shouldn't we miss in Kirkcudbright on a one day visit?" "History or art?", was the rapid fire response. I initially said history and was handed a walking tour outline that seemed to go around the outer parameter of the town. My partner, whose family doesn't come from here, had countered my answer with "art!" and we got a sigh of exasperation and a new brochure in which five or six "x's" were made in rapid succession with no explanation other than "Don't miss the Glasgow Girls exhibit" Now this was excellent advice and we did make our way to nearly all the check marks and thoroughly enjoyed our day but a smile and a few moments of explanation would have oriented us better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank piercesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The staff helped us out when we were looking for a child friendly pub with a beer garden. They were friendly and polite and gave a very good suggestion that we would not otherwise have found.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gordonm539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Helped us find B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

very helpful staff very knowledgeable and suggested places we may want to stay-gave us options and then suggested places to eat and visit etc. Couldn't do enough for us!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank boredinbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirkcudbright VisitScotland Information Centre also viewed

Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Kirkcudbright VisitScotland Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing