We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearances are deceptive”
Review of The Royal Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Don't let the delapidated exterior deter you from entering. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable. The owners are charming and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was fine. The Royal is centrally located for access to the delights of Kirkcubright and and excellent value for money.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank dewatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a very pleasant overnight stay at this family run hotel. The welcome and service were exceptional, with a warm welcome and great service from the enthusiastic new owners and staff who are working hard to re-establish The Royal to its former splendor. The breakfast was magnificent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This place is a disgrace to Kirkcudbright and Scotland and should be closed down.

We had a very unpleasant stay here and things have obviously not changed since our stay. At the time some guests just left regardless of whether they has already paid or not.

No hot water in the room and a leaky ceiling. The rude owner simply couldn't care less about things like this and just makes comments like "what do you except for £70 a night". He made no effort whatsoever to resolve the problems.

You won't get a decent night's sleep either due to the uproar from the public bar, which goes on until all hours. I could go on and on about how bad this place is. Just avoid it at all costs and stay anywhere else in the lovely town of Kirkcudbright.

Rating is sub Terrible.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rover022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Was in the area for a brief visit after being away for some years, I was excited at the prospect of meeting up with friends in what used to be our local. However... most refused to meet there are it was clear to see why. The hotel is in a state of disrepair, dirty and lifeless. The hotel is clearly just being used as an extended livingroom for the abrupt, dirty and downright rude manager to drink. Please do yourself a favour and stay in one of the beautiful bed and breakfasts in Kirkcudbright or any of the other hotels in the area. You have been warned about this...... Hole. Please dont spoil your holiday as I did.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank pikeslag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Absolutely terrible service at reception, dirty linen,plates and cutlery..DISGUSTING !! P.S Cockroaches everywhere !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Canada077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had the misfortune of booking in here for the jazz festival as everywhere else was full. We would rather miss the festival than stay here again. The hotel is run down and dirty. The staff less than helpful. On arrival we were dismayed at the "cupboard" reception with choice of public bar or pool hall to sit and have a drink. The food was just pubgrub and basic. The "resaurant" like an 1970s Blackpool B&B. The general clenliness was abysmall, (avoid the toilets downstairs, broken toilet seats and stench of urine). Moreover the general atmosphere in the place is overwhelmingly grim and unfriendly. During the day the staff congregrate at the front door for their "fag breaks". At night the noise did not lend itself to a good sleep. Mainly from the jukebox as the bar wasnt overfull. We even witnessed an event with the owner and his customers which resulted in the police being called as the owner had used racist comments. We will definately not be back and would never recommend to our friends or family. Having our car parked on the street outside hotel was also worrying.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joyrider34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

My husband and myself stayed at the Royal Hotel last year, we should have known when we were handed the key to our room and then couldnt find it as it was not listed with the other rooms, the room was small even though it was a double and the ensuite was a joke, there was a broken bracket where presumably a shelf used to be, I had heard of scottish mist which is a good description of the shower, you turned it on and then waited for the mist to wet you enough to wash. The bed was sooo squeaky it made you sound like you were having rampant sex even if you were just adjusting your tissue thin pillow. we ventured out and felt even more depressed when we saw really lovely B&B's in the surrounding streets, after a uncomfortable night we came down to a raw breakfast, the mushrooms had just been cut into four and left on the plate, the egg was not cooked properly, the staff were below uninterested and we fought the temptation to just leave and not pay but can imagine that a few have done this as no one was around and cared even less when they were there. all in all a very bad experience that has just resurfaced and so I thought I would put my two pence in.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sootyandpebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
123 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
139 reviews
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
112 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 50 St. Cuthbert Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
cheapest hotel in Kirkcudbright ,tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms ,TV in 5 rooms,free WIFI,4 double rooms ,1 twin with single beds , 3 rooms with a single and a double bed .PRICES from £20 per person /per night (without breakfast)£27 (with breakfast) ALL ROOMS AVAILABLE FOR SINGLE OCCUPANCY at £35 with breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing