We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, homely b and b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorlee Guest House
Ranked #4 of 16 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, homely b and b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We have stayed at Anchorlee for many years in April/May when a group of cyclists meet up for the may bank holiday weekend. Our cycles are safely tucked away in the garage overnight. Nothing is too much trouble for Olive and Alistair.
The bed we use is so comfortable and the breakfasts are wonderful. The room is always spotlessly clean. It is brilliant having comfortable chairs to relax in at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We like room 4 which is at the rear of the property and has a bath as well as a shower. We love wak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamish050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We Stayed at the Anchorlee for just one night but wish it had been longer. We had room number 3 which had a big comfy bed, fluffy towels and a great power shower whcih was needed as we had been walking all day. Olive gave us such a friendly welcome, and luckily knew the family whose party we were going to so was able to direct us and also gave us great direction for a trip down the coast the next day.

A great B & B all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our second overnight stay at the Anchorlee. As before a few months ago, Olive and Alistair made us very welcome. Had Room 1 again which has all you need for comfort and facilities including wi-fi, complementary tray, excellent powerful shower, comfortable bed and 2 easy chairs to sit in. Breakfast also excellent with good choice, quality and nicely cooked. Thanks also to Olive for her help with the story of the infamous William Marshall. We found his grave in Kirkcudbright cemetery. Thank you for your hospitality. Hope to see you again in the future. Paul and Lynne

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbU2184YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at Anchorlee for two nights last week. From our arrival to our leaving ,everything was wonderful! Olive & Alistair made us very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. I had flowers delivered, unexpectedly,for my birthday and Olive made sure the delivery was able to take place by leaving a note for the carrier!The bedroom, with its huge bed and lovely ensuite, was most comfortable. The ensuite had toiletries and soft fluffy white towels. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and varied, clearly used the best produce. The house itself is well maintained and full of character. Olive has a sound local knowledge which is very useful if you are new to the area. We had not been to Kirkcudbright for many years and it is a delightful little town. We had an excellent meal at the Castle restaurant in the town. Anchorlee is an asset to the local economy and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed at the Anchorlee for just one night but wish it had been longer. We had a lovely large room with a very comfortable bed, a great shower and everything was spotless. Olive gave us such a friendly and sincere welcome and gave the impression that she loves what she does. There is an extensive breakfast menu and although we prefer fairly light meals, what she served was beautifully cooked. Would not hesitate to recommend this wee haven.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbop81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed at the Anchorlee Guest House over the weekend of 27th /28th July 2012 on a business trip, was warmly welcomed by both Olive and Alistair, the Guest house is very clean and the breakfasts are top notch, the only thing I would suggest is that their should be some back ground music on in the dinning room or a flat screen tv with the news on at a low volume.

I can Highly recommend the Anchorlee Guest House.

Room Tip: Room 2 for two single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband and found Olive to be very welcoming and friendly and the stay was a delight, lovely room, very good breakfast. We felt at home for all of our overnight stay. would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to all our friends.
Ann S

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.4 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorlee Guest House

Property: Anchorlee Guest House
Address: 95 St. Mary Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorlee guesthouse in Kirkcudbright where warm friendly local hospitality awaits you in this elegant 19th century Victorian townhouse situated close to the centre of the charming harbour town of Kirkcudbright. Here at Anchorlee guesthouse Olive and Alastair want you to have a superb bed and breakfast experience and value for money by providing: clean spacious rooms, comfortable kingsize beds, excellent showers delicious breakfasts free WiFi internet fridge for use by guests private car parking early breakfasts can be arranged packed lunches can also be provided Why choose Anchorlee Here at Anchorlee Guesthouse in Kirkcudbright We have taken great care to prepare comfortable rooms for you to relax in and enjoy your stay. Breakfast at Anchorlee is freshly prepared from the finest locally sourced ingredients and you can choose from our varied menu. We try our best to cater for special diets and pride ourselves in giving value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorlee Guest House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing