We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and clean B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorlee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorlee Guest House
Ranked #4 of 16 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Cosy and clean B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed here for one night in October. The town was pretty chilly in autumn, but our room was lovely and warm. We had a double room - which actually has a double bed and also a single bed. The whole room was nicely decorated and quite spacious - it didn't feel cramped at all. It was spotlessly clean and there was also a nice en suite bathroom with a large shower and plenty of sink space. The owners were very friendly and there was a huge and very good fully cooked breakfast - with heaps of choice! - accompanied by cereals and juices or porridge. The only downside was breakfast time - breakfast is served between 8 and 8.45 am - so bang goes the much anticipated Sunday lie-in :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_riad_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
44
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in a twin room with a modern well appointed en-suite.The beds were very comfy. Breakfast was in an elegant dining room and was excellent. The smoked haddock was the best we've tasted but there was a good choice if fish isn't for you! Both Olive and her husband were very friendly and made us feel at home and as if nothing was too much trouble.We can highly recommend Anchorlee for a relaxed, good value break. We found a lovely bistro in Wigton where everything was homemade- the shortbread was amazing.We were a little disappointed with eating places in Kirkcudbright but that was partly due to so many places being closed on a Monday night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosehill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

Olive and Alistair made us really welcome. Our room was lovely, bright and sunny overlooking the beautiful garden. The accommodation was very comfortable and the breakfast first class. Anchorlee is a great base for exploring this wonderful part of the country and we look forward to visiting again.

Eleanor & Alistair

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squidgePaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and as on one of the previous reviews had the room at the back of the house. The room was set on two levels. A bathroom when you walked in to the left and then stairs down into a fair sized bedroom with two comfy leather chairs and TV etc. The room has a large window overlooking a very large garden. A lovely layout I must say.
Olive and Alistair are a delight. Two of the most friendly B & B people I have met. The B & B is traditional, spotless and has a certain elegance about it. The breakfast - an excellent choice to be had. It was nice to be able to choose from a list of items including kippers! Its also perfect for a stroll into Kirkcudbright. Also visit Wigtown and the famous book shops, where you can have a sit in a comfy armchair and have a free coffee whilst you read the books! Visit the Gordon House Hotel in Kirkcudbright for excellent food and huge servings!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensferry, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Was very comfortable with good cooking, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeDee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

First class accommodation in a first class small town. A very friendly welcome awaits you at Anchorlee Guest House by Mrs olive Grant. Spotlessly clean throughout, the bedrooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. Our room was particularly nice - beautifully decorated with a king size bed, 2 soft chairs and a open view over the well kept back garden. In addition to the full traditional English breakfast there was the opportunity to make up your own from a wide selection of items. Value for money? Excellent! We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnieDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.4 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorlee Guest House

Property: Anchorlee Guest House
Address: 95 St. Mary Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorlee guesthouse in Kirkcudbright where warm friendly local hospitality awaits you in this elegant 19th century Victorian townhouse situated close to the centre of the charming harbour town of Kirkcudbright. Here at Anchorlee guesthouse Olive and Alastair want you to have a superb bed and breakfast experience and value for money by providing: clean spacious rooms, comfortable kingsize beds, excellent showers delicious breakfasts free WiFi internet fridge for use by guests private car parking early breakfasts can be arranged packed lunches can also be provided Why choose Anchorlee Here at Anchorlee Guesthouse in Kirkcudbright We have taken great care to prepare comfortable rooms for you to relax in and enjoy your stay. Breakfast at Anchorlee is freshly prepared from the finest locally sourced ingredients and you can choose from our varied menu. We try our best to cater for special diets and pride ourselves in giving value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anchorlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorlee Guest House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing