We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem”
Review of Queensberry House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queensberry House
Ranked #1 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Queensberry house after visiting family in the Scottish Highlands. We were warmly welcomed by Denise and Paul and after travelling on a very hot day Denise kindly offered us a chilled drink and strawberries on arrival. Both Paul and Denise were very helpful advising us about the area and local restaurants. We stayed in the Thistle room which was immaculate. The breakfast was delicious and we were offered an extensive choice on the menu. The only downside was that we were only staying for one night and wished that we could have stayed longer. Paul and Denise were wonderful hosts and we are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Paul and Christine

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just returned from weekend away for wedding in Lockerbie stayed here in Moffat for two nights what a pleasure Paul and Denise where wonderful hosts , they made us feel so welcome like we were friends quality and great value for money( Thanks ) kathleen and Gerald.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabbie251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was my second trip to Queensberry House and try as I might, I cannot help but leave another outstanding review!
Paul and Denise certainly run an exemplary B&B and cannot be beaten on comfort, cleanliness, hospitality, quality or value for money! I was arriving late in to Moffat but a quick call to Queensberry House from the motorway services ensured that they made a dinner reservation for me (Moffat can be surprisingly busy!) and they were more than happy to take my wet walking gear off my hands and dry it overnight.
After an exhausting day, I was yet again surprised by how comfortable my room was and had one of the best night's sleep I have had in a long while - the only thing that could tempt me out of bed was Denise's delicious breakfast (P&D - ever thought about opening a café?!)!
All in all, I cannot wait for visit number 3!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griswald_Trecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and could not fault it. The hosts Denise and Paul could not have been more helpful. They made us feel as part of their family. The room was perfectly decorated and the breakfast was to die for. The guesthouse is perfectly situated in Moffat and is only about a 5 minute walk into the centre. Highly recommended. We will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Small but perfectly decorated and presented immaculate rooms, wonderful hosts, delicious smoked salmon and scrambled egg breakfast, even the offer of a tipple before we went out to dinner!

We will certainly return on our way up North next trip

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maybh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Moffat is the perfect place to split your journey to the north of Scotland, just off the motorway and a delightful town. Queensberry House also fits the bill. Quiet, on street parking and only 5 minutes walk to the town which has a good choice of restaurants/hotels for evening meals. Very welcoming B and B with a really good standard of breakfast.

Room Tip: We had the front bedroom which was quiet and to a very high standard. Defo recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed one night early June on a leisurely return from Orkney. The guest rooms are on the ground floor and ours was at the side/back, not much view but very quiet. Comfortable beds, pleasant decor, smallish shower room.

Breakfast, ordered the night before, was very enjoyable and Paul gave us good advice about where to have dinner(we chose The Star).

The house is set in a terrace on a quiet road, less than 5 minutes walk from Moffat centre which is a very pleasant Borders town. Parking is on the road, but there seemed to be no restrictions and little competition for space!

We enjoyed our visit and would stay again if we needed to break our journey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MacIntyre Lodge
MacIntyre Lodge
#7 of 24 in Moffat
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
0.3 mi away
No 29 Well Street B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry House

Address: Queensberry House 12 Beechgrove, Moffat DG10 9RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range: £67 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queensberry House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Queensberry House. We offer you comfortable accommodation in well presented rooms with modern en-suite facilties. Choose from our Heather room which has a larger en-suite, or our Thistle room which has an an en suite with luxurious underfloor heating. Our Bluebell guest room is our brightest room, getting the sun for most of the day. There is also a guest lounge to relax in or plan your onward journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Queensberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensberry House Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing