We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three men in a guesthouse”
Review of Buchan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buchan Guest House
Ranked #9 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Three of us used the Buchan Guesthouse as a base for walking in the Moffat area. The accommodation suited us perfectly -- very clean and comfortable, and our hosts Brenda and Chris made us most welcome.They took our wet clothes and dried them. The excellent breakfasts kept us going pretty much all day. Our room was easily big enough for three men and there was a very comfortable lounge for relaxing in over a Tunnocks teacake or a raspberry truffle (on-tap).There was good W-Fi. It was an excellent base for a walking holiday and it would be an excellent overnight stop if travelling further north. Most of our fellow guests had been before, so that was a good recommendation.

Room Tip: Who knows? We just got a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnold79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I and our small dog 'Baxter' stayed here for 1 night in August on our way to Western Scotland.

Really good Guesthouse, smallish room but perfectly clean and comfortable, again small bathroom but good shower and very clean.

The owners of Buchan have done a great job and were excellent family hosts. Good breakfast in the morning.

I would recommended staying here if your in Moffat, we paid £70 per room, which was a competitive price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor, no noise even though it was near to front door and opposite dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C4SSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A fantastic guest house and we cannot fault Buchan House at all. Warm welcome; comfortable, clean room. A marvellous guest lounge and a fabulous breakfast. It is perfectly situated for a short stroll into Moffat, where there are plenty of places to eat; even on a unday evening. Nothing really else to say.
Just the job!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelstrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here enroute to Edinburgh Festival. Lovely friendly hosts and warm and welcoming accommodation when the temperature dipped. Hearty tasty breakfast to start the day . Would highly recommend this B and B situated in a quieter part of Moffat.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillianMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed one night on way up to Highlands in July 2013. Service and welcome excellent; spacious and comfortable ground floor room with veranda outside. Only slight grumble was the size of the en-suite shower room, but it was perfectly adequate nonetheless. Breakfast was lovely - plenty of choice of fruit, cereals and suchlike, and a wonderfully well-cooked full Scottish breakfast if you wanted it. Fabulous location also - lovely and quiet, but only a few minutes' walk from the town centre where there was plenty of choice for the evening meal. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Moffat, and am likely to return if ever going up north again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyD1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a weeks cycling tour in the borders and this was our favourite B & B with a warm welcome and is a very clean and comfortable place to stay. Chris stowed our bikes in the garage and offered his lubricant for our dusty chains and Brenda cheerfully welcomed us into the house. She can make the weariest of travellers laugh after a long hot day with her keen sense of humour.
The breakfast was the best ever with fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast large enough to keep us going until the evening before we were able to eat again.
Buchan is a grand old house of character and will be our first choice to stay as soon as we are back in the area.
Thank you both for a comfortable and happy time.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and I was concerned it might be noisy but it was absolutely fine an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Found this by accident when we were driving through Moffat, looking for a nice B&B. we had a lovely double room overlooking the bowling green. In the morning, all we could hear was the birds singing. Our room was very comfortable. For breakfast, there were cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits followed by a cooked breakfast. I had egg on buttered muffin and my husband had the Scottish breakfast with a little haggis.
Our hosts Chris and Brenda looked after us completely.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Guest House

Address: Euchan Beechgrove, Moffat DG10 9RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range: £78 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very welcoming Guest House about 1 mile from junction 15 of M74. The ideal place to overnight on a long journey. 6 En suite bedrooms and a family suite of 2 bedrooms and shower room. Breakfast choices from light to hearty with numerous vegetarian options. Private parking with a space for every room. The only local guest house able to provide this. Large garage for multiple motor bikes or cycles. Free Wi Fi. Well stocked hospitality trays. Large guest lounge. Opposite the tennis courts & bowling green and within 5 minutes walk of about 10 places to eat in the evening. Pay by card, including Amex. Rates quoted are per adult. Discounts for children up to 16 years. Sorry but no pets please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Buchan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Guest House Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing