We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Peaceful & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful & Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked this guest house last minute after failing to find a hotel reservation. So glad I did and so glad hotels in the town were full! The accommodation really is beautiful and the views from every window are stunning. Our room (which I believe is the smallest) was on the top floor in the eves of the house, and the four short flights of stairs to get there was well worth it. I don't think I've ever stayed in a place so near to all of the attractions a town boasts but is so peaceful and quiet and truly makes you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the food and service at breakfast was great and the bedroom very comfortable and relaxing. I would certainly check availability here first when returning to Moffat - if you do too you won't be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightEyes1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    28
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
86
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here 1 night and booked based upon the strength of the other reviews. The restaurant is really good, nice ambience, great quality food both for dinner and breakfast. The property is located in a really peaceful area just a short walk from the town. Lots of great walks in the area (Grey Mare's Tail is approx 20 mins drive) Only downside is that the bed is just a double but I guess that's reflected in the price. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notebene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We enjoyed a stopover here on the way up to the Highlands. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a view of gardens and the hills. Breakfast was first rate. What a lovely start to the holiday - thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haliaeetusalbicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
381 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having stayed in an old Victorian house whilst growing up, this (single) room and ensuite reminded me very much of my childhood home - right down to the original fitments and panelling. The house has a history which you can read about, and the owners have done a great job to keep the character and enhance it with more modern touches. Take a look at the view from the residents lounge! The bed had a super-snug memory form mattress, and I can't recall a better sleep - even having to get up at 07.00 am I felt refreshed. All this and delicious breakfast too.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front for a view to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I :). We're on an overnight stay in Moffat but were left less than impressed with our hotel so decided to eat elsewhere. He checked tripadvisor and found hart fell house and restaurant We booked late but received a very warm welcome and subsequently enjoyed a three course meal that any Michelin star restaurant would struggle to surpass and certainly could not beat for value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I only have a few words for this place - utterly beautiful, clean, welcoming, fantastic!

Comfiest bed I have ever slept in, the most fantastic cooked breakfast. Absolutely immaculate and clean. Full of character.

The food in the restaurant was top quality, and plenty of it.

I WILL be going back again.

Room Tip: ANY room will be brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrUnHappy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Driving up to Hartfell on a really cold evening, the old world charm of the building shone at the end of the crescent. Rob welcomed us as if we where old friends and showed us to our charming twin room. A short time later, dinner in the Limetree restaurant. Excellent meal. Excellent value. A quick walk around a freezing Moffat and off to a comfy bed with the requested Hypo allergenic pillows and quilts. Breakfast had cereal and juice to start if required and then an excellent cooked breakfast. The sad part, having only stayed one night. On leaving, the lovely young owners checked where we were going and told us of the traffic conditions and which way to go. Thank you. Ps. If you are going to the Commonwealth games, unlike Glasgow, Hartfell House hasn't upped its prices. Glasgow is an easy hour away. What a place to use.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bells54070803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 23 in Moffat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 29 Well Street B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant

Property: Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Address: Hartfell House Hartfell Crescent, Moffat DG10 9AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850, this impressive Victorian house is in a peaceful terrace high above the town, having lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Beautifully maintained, its bedrooms offer high quality and comfort. The award winning Limetree Restaurant serves a charismatic blend of modern and traditional cooking with Scottish and global influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartfell House And The Limetree Restaurant
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant Hotel Moffat
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing