We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a great little hotel”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've stayed here many times as one of the attendees at the annual Moffat Bass Bash - a musicians' convention held in the town each February or March. I've always found the staff to be accommodating and helpful (and extremely welcoming and friendly) and the rooms are also excellent. Last year I stayed in a fabulous room, newly refurbished and capacious; this year I was allocated a more modestly sized room which is no doubt on the list for a refurb shortly... Not that there was anything wrong with it. It was clean, warm, quiet and homely - which is all that you need. I'd be happy to stay in that room again, although I know there are better available in the same hotel.

The reason I've stayed here so many times is that it's simply a great little hotel. Breakfast is fabulous, the rooms are great, the staff are truly accommodating. What more could you need?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and spent a 3 night break at the Balmoral last week,and we both thought what a fantastic place it is. The staff were so helpful ,the breakfast and evening meals were superb.Also the bedroom was wonderful,it was like a suite in a 5 star hotel. We would definitely recommend it to anyone.And the lady that cleaned the rooms did a brilliant job,our room was spotless when we returned each day,and everything was replenished teabags etc.We hopefully will return some day.

Room Tip: As far as i know all the rooms are briliant,there are also 2 cottages in the rear courtyard ,that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbydazzler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

we eat on new years eve in the balmoral, we didnt feel like it was anything special no candles on table no table cloths we felt very rushed,as though we were just in for another pub meal and not a new years celebration, so we left after the meal and wen to the stag. food was very basic at the balmoral the steak £13.50 etc was ok but not presented very well on a very large plate but as there wasn't much on the plate it looked empty.The following night we eat in the Stag which was such a improvement , candles table cloths excellant customer service etc. i love moffat we come at least twice a year so was dissapointed with the meal, it seems like they wanted to clear the tables as quick as possible for the drinkers to be sat there ready for new year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked to stay over at the Balmoral Hotel for Hogmanay and were shown to a beautiful room overlooking the picturesque High Street. The room was large , had a sitting area with TV, comfy couch and complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits, etc. Even had a fridge with fresh milk and complimentary bottles of water. Bedroom area had another TV, comfy bed and lovely wooden furniture. The bathroom was HUGE and came complete with fluffy towels, facecloths, bath robes and full size complimentary toiletries. The cost of all this???? £65 for the 2 of us, including a huge freshly cooked breakfast next morning. We have eaten in this hotel before when visiting Moffat and the meals are delicious and very reasonably priced, but we've never stayed over before. I would highly recommend the Balmoral and will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: stayed in room 17 at the top of the hotel with a lovely view - fine for us but lots of stairs to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivien s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have just returned from the Balmoral Hotel and had a lovely meal there. If you chose to come here for your evening meal I would recommend gammon and eggs, I really enjoyed it. The place is clean and the staff are friendly, I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My sister and I have now turned this into a yearly visit after a great day christmas shopping at Gretna outlet village we stay at the Balmoral on our way home. Once again had a great time, the owners seem to love christmas (like myself) as the bar is decorated with lights etc. we had room 2 this time which was even bigger than our last trip, spotlessly clean and a separate lounge. This is a hidden gem, we'll worth a visit. See you next year!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We booked in to the balmoral hotel , and were welcomed in what I would call a Luke warm English manner rather than the warm Scottish manner I would have expected. That was only a minor bug bear though because my apprehension was soon blown into touch when my girlfriend and I clapped eyes on wavy can only be described as the nicest 2 and a half star slash3 star suite slash beds it we've ever encountered , it was perfect for our limited needs , my girlfriend being partially blind did however trip over a ruck in the carpet and being a carpet fitter myself I found this something that could have been avoided ( wish I'd packed my kicker ) brush with death aside an excellent/not great hotel . Lack of pharmacies in the area too for my wife's head pills , otherwise ok

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank francks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range: £64 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing