We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“May Bank Holiday in the Borders”
other travellers have booked this property
Caledonian Cottage.
3 star accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caledonian Cottage.
3 star accommodation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Caledonian Cottage.
3 star accommodation
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thomas P
North Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“May Bank Holiday in the Borders”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This quality 2 bedroom cottage with ample parking for our two cars was in an ideal location for our hill walking weekend in the Borders and provided easy access to the town. Although there is no kitchen there is a microwave and tea and coffee making facilities. Also we were well looked after by our friendly hosts Gordon and Maggi who kept us well supplied with breakfast ingredients ie biscuits, fresh fruit and cereals. There are numerous good pubs, restaurants and cafes nearby for lunch and/or dinner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you Thomas, thats appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRUCE2912
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Although was only used for 1 night was disappointed to find it wasn't a cottage was more of a bedsit with a shared bathroom twin beds due to family circumstances had to travel home next day .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
So sorry you were disappointed but all that information is on the website which you must of seen when you booked! We mainly cater for cyclists and as explained there are plenty of restaurants around us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connorm61...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked last minute for a work trip.

Nice cosy room with a TV etc, perfect for a nights kip.

Owner was very nice and helpful and told us where to go etc.

Moffat is a lovely wee place and will return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
We aim to please. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kateymac1...
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Found this place last minute to stay as we love Moffat itself. The cottage is attached to the main house owned by the owners and they are lovely. Gordon who greeted us was lovely and so helpful. The cottage itself is great value for money, very comfy beds, very clean and the location is excellent. Handy if your maybe booking in a group as there's a single room separate and its a shared bathroom but this wasn't a problem at all. Overall we loved our stay (we brought our dog too!) and would go back again for sure! Highly recommend it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you Folks it's appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L
Moffat, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in a lovely town.”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great accommodation, owner had lots of local knowledge, helped us plan our activities during our stay. We participated in mountain biking, walking, golf and visited a lot of Moffat's businesses and sights. We will be definately be back to stay here! Thanks Gordon and Margaret for making our stay so good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Maggi and I hope to see you again late summer, thanks for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing