We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Compact, clean and comfortable.”
other travellers have booked this property
Caledonian Cottage.
3 star accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caledonian Cottage.
3 star accommodation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Caledonian Cottage.
3 star accommodation
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venture54...
1 review
“Compact, clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Perfect place for our overnight stop. All on one level so helpful for parent with slight mobility issues. No kitchen facilities but small fridge (carton of fresh milk provided) and microwave available. Drink making facilities in both bedrooms. Cereals and selection of fresh fruit provided for breakfast. Plenty of eateries within walking distance and dog walks. So impressed we booked overnight stop for return journey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Many thanks for a positive review, hope to see you again soon. Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M
2 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had the most lovely stay in this cottage. Made to feel very welcome by Gordon and Maggie, the perfect hosts. Cottage very clean and Beds really comfy. Would recommend to anyone and would certainly return. Ps sorry if Dexter was heard barking!
Thanks again
Jayne, Duncan, Duncan and Dexter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thank you Jayne and we never heard Dexter at all! Hope to see you again! Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thank you Barbara it's appreciated, hope to see you again! Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas P
North Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“May Bank Holiday in the Borders”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This quality 2 bedroom cottage with ample parking for our two cars was in an ideal location for our hill walking weekend in the Borders and provided easy access to the town. Although there is no kitchen there is a microwave and tea and coffee making facilities. Also we were well looked after by our friendly hosts Gordon and Maggi who kept us well supplied with breakfast ingredients ie biscuits, fresh fruit and cereals. There are numerous good pubs, restaurants and cafes nearby for lunch and/or dinner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you Thomas, thats appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRUCE2912
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Although was only used for 1 night was disappointed to find it wasn't a cottage was more of a bedsit with a shared bathroom twin beds due to family circumstances had to travel home next day .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
So sorry you were disappointed but all that information is on the website which you must of seen when you booked! We mainly cater for cyclists and as explained there are plenty of restaurants around us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connorm61...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked last minute for a work trip.

Nice cosy room with a TV etc, perfect for a nights kip.

Owner was very nice and helpful and told us where to go etc.

Moffat is a lovely wee place and will return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
We aim to please. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kateymac1...
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Found this place last minute to stay as we love Moffat itself. The cottage is attached to the main house owned by the owners and they are lovely. Gordon who greeted us was lovely and so helpful. The cottage itself is great value for money, very comfy beds, very clean and the location is excellent. Handy if your maybe booking in a group as there's a single room separate and its a shared bathroom but this wasn't a problem at all. Overall we loved our stay (we brought our dog too!) and would go back again for sure! Highly recommend it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you Folks it's appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing