We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best lunch in years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Playwright

The Playwright
Ranked #15 of 374 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best lunch in years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Finding a good restaurant open on a Monday is always a challenge so were delighted that our friends booked The Playwright to meet up - a favourite of ours anyway. Despite the chefs having to cook in candlelight (but by gas, of course) because the electricity had decided to fail, the slightly delayed meal was excellent. Well done!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    104
    36
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We are always looking for good places to eat in Dundee and decided to give The Playwright a try because of some decent reviews. I am thankful we had the pre-theatre menu because otherwise it would have been really overpriced. Of course you cannot make a judgement based on one visit but I doubt we will be back - not at the price. My cullen skink was bland, my wifes steak was far too salty....it was a surprise to see the restaurant so empty on a friday night - which kind of speaks volumes. We were over all disappointed and do not expect to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theweeflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a table at 5.00 pm, (as we were going on to the theatre) on Easter Saturday and ate from the Pre-Theatre Menu. The choice of food was excellent, and price wise, very good value.
We both enjoyed the food; well presented, well cooked and delicious. The staff were pleasant and attentive, and the restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere. We would recommend a visit to The Playwright, and would definitely return on our next visit to Dundee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 66Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dundee fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is probably the best and most competently cooked food in Dundee. Beautifully presented and consistent quality. Lovely combinations of ingredients and flavours are cooked classically. Starters and puddings stand out. Only criticism is food can be very rich and seasoning can be a little too much for my palate.
Service is professional and friendl. We have been to this restaurant many times for lunch and dinner and it never disappoints

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craigbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“overpriced and underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Reading other reviews, we had high expectations but our overall experience was not great. The menu is ambitious but it seems really overpriced. There was no main course below £23.95, which is a bit steep for anything other than a first-class experience - and it was not first class. I had pork belly with cabbage, priced at £24.95 and although the dish was superficially well-presented, the pork belly itself was soft, white and flabby. This feels like a restaurant in need of a fresh burst of enthusiasm and a more realistic approach to pricing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AuntieC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Playwright also viewed

 

Been to The Playwright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing