We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunlaw House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
32
19
2
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
19
2
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bdouble roombreakfast was amazinggood nights sleeplovely hotelenjoyed our staygood sizecrescentensuiteheatingcarpet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Booked for one night. On arrival I asked if I could have breakfast at 7.45 or a sandwich as they dont serve breakfast until 8am, this was agreed but in the morning I arrived for breakfast at 7.40am but there was no-one there, there were cereals etc, but no milk.
I waited but decided to go at 7.55 without breakfast.
Slept with my clothes on all night as there was no heating and it was the end of October in Scotland!
Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosedonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoboDundee_Scotland, Owner at Dunlaw House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2011

Have just noticed this review and would like to respond to it as follows
We note that it was written by a "Rose"Donald - well it was in fact a male that stayed that night
We would point out that he could not find staff as they were in fact trying to relight the boiler as they found the heating to be off (later found it was the "Solanoid" that was at fault)
However, we would also like to point out that it was a "Gentleman" and not a lady who occupied the twin room that night and HE had the facilities of two duvets and two extra blankets at his disposal to keep warm and should not have needed to sleep in his clothes
We do regret that it was unfortunate that he did not experience our excellent Scottish .Breakfasts To finalise, we would like it noted by Trip Advisor that said "gentleman" in fact gave us the wrong numbers for his credit card and payment was not made for this stay !!
We should therefore be grateful if you could consider removing this bad report

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We went for the spet weekend, we hadnt booked in advance as we thought we would just go a drive and stay where we ended up. We struggled to find anywhere for a sat night and started to regret. We looked up on the sat nav and seen Dunlaws we rang and they had avalibility. As we were arriving we couldnt figure out how to get into the street as its all oneway and both ends were no entry so we parked out on the hill and walked round the owner answered the door, lovely fella and showed us to our HUGE room. We were so excited. We were allowed to park on the yellow lines just outside it. We settled in and were so amazed at the size. We had a queen size bed, en suite with bath and seperate shower. The decor is old fashioned, floral curtains and carpet but suited the old victorian house and was so cute. We are a young couple but just loved it. Breakfast was amazing with fantastic choice of cereals, cooked breakfasts. And on request will make dinner. There is a bar there as well it all over looks the garden whihc they have awards and tropheys. It is in a quiet street far away from town centre but perfect for a quiet wknd away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank potaruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Oh dear. I didn't have a pleaant stay here at all and wouldn't reccommend it. Perhaps some rooms are quite pleasant, but I was in a single attic room with a very lumpy bed, depresing lifeless decor, and the only source of heat a rather smelly old electric heater. I spent a cold, uncomfortable night here. It feels like the owners haven't put much love into the place.

But the breakfast was not bad, and the garden pretty.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cusden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

This was a lovely place to stay in dundee. we choose the location as it was close to some relatives that live near by. it is quite a tough walk from town (uphill) so take this into consideration if you dont have a car, but it is do-able.
The gardens were lovely and the inside decore was lovely. Breakfast was also cooked to order, and it was a high quality and very filling. My only complaint was that the coffee was instant (and not very nice). the bathroom was tiny (we stayed in room with an ensuite for 60 pounds/night) but that is common in europe. It was nice to have a television. the owners were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bec9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews