We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a getaway from thew norm in April.Found the hotel no problem and checked in easily. Found room to be clean warm but very basic but its all we required for our stay as we were not in the room during the day.. In the room we had flat screen tv with little chanels but enough for us, tv coffee making facilites power shower which was great no toiletries but you could have asked for but we never rquired any as used our own,Breafast was ok to be honest as you helped yourself to sausage scrambled eggs beans and as many cereals as you wanted, fresh bread with toasting machine and crossaints a plenty, we cant complain about this hotel really but the only problem with this hotel was the parking as no car park, but you can purchase parking vouchers from hotel to public car park at back of hotel at a rate of £5.00 per day which is a bit cheaper than the going rate, but overall this is a very handy hotel for the city centre and we will return in the future...

Room Tip: parking is a problem so do ask for vouchers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needapic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for three nights during Easter in this hotel and it was good value for our money. However, the rooms are very small and when the sofa bed is in use, it becomes quite uncomfortable, for three people.
The breakfast was good, not a wide variety to choose from, but decent enough. Above all, the location is excellent for exploring the city, the car park does not belong to the hotel but it has a private entrance which makes it worthwhile the £5 a day, paid on arrival. As a whole we had a good experience at this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamSilvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Standard Holiday in Express rooms and bathrooms - expensive parking which is not even directly connected to the hotel ( have to take long corridors and stairs- no elevators...) - average breakfast ( good choice - croissant / eggs & bacon / cerals & flakes- but not the best quality )
Nice service from the staff

Room Tip: ask for a front vuew, otherwise you might get a view on the locked parking :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleykouassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

the rooms & public areas are clean & tidy. the staff are helpful & very friendly. the location suited me & i was not bothered by the road or road works outside. there was the usual HIX takeaway menus for you to use or the adjacent roads have plenty of good restaraunts. i cannot fault it & will continue to use everytime i am in the area

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

traffic noise is a downside. Beg to differ with wiseoldbird about the standard of double glazing it definitely needs improvement if you are bedded at the front.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear richardmint,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and are very sorry for any inconvenience the outside noise may have caused you. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

With its central location close to High St / Discovery/Caird Hall , this gave great value for money for a family room, the rate was good but because it also included breakfast it makes up to a 5* review.
The room was perfectly functional big enough for 2 double beds with a bit to spare, we were on the river side so there was a view of sorts. The cooked breadfast was basic, but still better than anything i would have at home.

Service & staff were excellent, parking is free if you arrive after 6pm and leave before 8am, otherwise it is £5 max. Direct access into hotel from level 3 of the adjacent multi-storey makes it very convienant. If like me you arrive after 6pm and leave at 9.30am the cost is £1.60. Not bad given its central location. A 5 min walk to discovery point. Eat out at many local restauruants , take your pick of all styles.

Overall I am not saying it is a 5* hotel but you get what you pay for and this was 5* for what was offered and price paid - I don't think it was a special offer just normal weekday room rates.

Room Tip: we got a front facing room with river view without asking, rooms to back would have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricc099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here on a Business trip. Good location. Cheap but good value, Would recommend to the overnight traveller. A bit noisy but expected for a town centre hotel. Internet a big problem, the rooms are not kitted out properly although this is a new hotel. cant complain about B & B at these prices

Room Tip: Ask for a room with internet, if that's important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cleethopresmafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Cleethopresmafia,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Address: 41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dundee 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Dundee is a stylish hotel offering an inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options. Within the hotel there is free wireless internet access throughout. All 95 bedrooms offer freeview television, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and power shower. Holiday Inn Express Dundee is perfectly located in the heart of Dundee City Centre just a 5 minute walk from both Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and HM Frigate Unicorn. For sports fans Holiday Inn Express Dundee is within easy reach of the Dundee International Sports Centre as well as Dundee United Football Club and Dundee Football Club. The hotel is perfectly situated for the Train Station and Bus Station and only a 5 minute taxi journey to Dundee Airport. For the keen golfers the Holiday Inn Express Dundee is well situated for Open Championship golf courses such as St Andrews and Carnoustie. The hotel has 2 great value meeting rooms which are modern, informal and ideal for presentations, interviews and training. Everything you need is included from audio visual and projection equipment to stationery. Buffet lunch and snacks can be arranged at an additional cost. Parking is available in the nearby Gellatly Street Council Car Park with an access bridge direct to reception from level 3 of the car park. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am with charges applicable outwith these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Hotel Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing