We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great staff and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Everything here was great.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean. The wifi worked perfectly (as did the door cards) and the breakfast was great. It is really handy for the shops, the attractions and the tay Bridge, if you feel like nipping over to St Andrews.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River Tay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sandra M
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
i was delighted to read you found everthing met with your expectations
i have passed on all you have said to my colleagues.
We all look forwad to your next visit.
regards
Karen
Senior guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    256
    140
    56
    31
See reviews for
102
188
39
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This isn't the prettiest looking hotel (But then Dundee isn't a particularly pretty city!), and the carpets used throughout the hotel are garish to say the least, but the location is ideal, right by the centre, and walking distance from the football grounds (which was the reason for our visit), and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The free breakfast you get at an Holiday Inn Express is adequate , it's a buffet style, which is good, but it has to be the only hotel chain in the UK that doesn't have an option of bacon for breakfast (Sausage, scrambled egg, toast and beans are the only cooked options).
The bar area has lovely big picture windows, which give a good view of the Tay Bridges, sadly there aren't many other views in Dundee, the whole waterside area looks a bit drab, but that is Dundee's problem and not the hotels.
I wouldn't choose to visit Dundee for anything other than work or football, but if I did have to go there again, I would probably book this hotel.
Oh, and we parked in the connecting multi storey car park, all night Friday, all day and all night Saturday, left at about 10am on Sunday, and the total cost was £7.50, that's a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Rex L

Thank you for your honest feedback,
I am pleased to hear the location of our hotel suited your needs and if you were to return to Dundee you would stay with our hotel, if so we will try our best to give you a river view again.
All of your comments are welcome and appreciated.

Regards,
Alison
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesmahagow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed there last week, there was nothing a problem for staff, the room was great, the breakfast was great. I'll be back!! Don't be fooled and go across the road to the Apex as they charge twice the price plus more and the coffee was crap.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Jan B,

Thank you for your positive comments,
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that we are your preferred hotel in Dundee.
We look forward to your return and will have the coffee ready.

Regards,
Alison
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I always associate a HI Express with just a comfy bed and clean room but the extras here were better than I anticipated - free good WiFi and breakfast. The free breakfast was fantastic and much more extensive than I expected.
I visit Dundee occasionally for work and find it comparatively expensive to stay and eat out, so this HI only gets average for value. Otherwise, everything was super - friendly, helpful staff, good seating area and spacious, well laid out room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Ellen_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Jane_Ellen_H

Thank you for your honest review,
I am pleased our hotel suited most of your needs and appreciate your positive comments.
I will pass on your kind comments regarding our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Alison
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent hotel in city centre,only ten minutes or less walk from rail station,shops ,pubs and restaurants all close by.Great views from dining area looking over the Tay Bridge,you can also just see the famous ship "Discovery" from the large windows.Hotel modern,very clean and comfortable,staff were brilliant and so helpful.Breakfast was free and a perfect selection of cereals ,bread,fruit ,hot and cold drinks and cooked food all buffet style .Also it was served from 7:30 until 10:30 at weekends for folks who don't want to be rushed.

Room Tip: Room 417 had great view over the Tay Bridge and there was a sofa bed too ,was quite quiet although i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear JeanMichelle

I was delighted ti read your review.
We are very lucky with the view we see everyday and once the rebuiding on the waterfront is complete it will be amazing i hope we can welcome you back and you can watch the progress as well.

kind regards
Karen
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here friday 4 April for 2 nights. The hotel is just lovely, andso are the staff...especially Karen who is one of there managers...she is soo welcoming and soo helpful. I feel that the Hiloday inn express is so lucky that they have her working with them as she's a gem!!!
The bedrooms are very clean..as are all public area's. The hotel is only a few minutes walk to a variety of resturants...a very good stay...will be back

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear AnnieFifeScotland
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Dundee. I am delighted you found the decor and cleanliness impeccable and I have shared your feedback with my housekeeping team. I have also passed on your fantastic comments to Karen and she does indeed share the same vision as myself of creating a friendly and welcoming environment. I am happy she did this during your visit. Thank you for such a lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Graeme Shewan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turn left at mars
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

IHG knew they would be on to a winner once they replaced the old hotel with the Express new build. Once all the redevelopment work is complete this will be my first choice hotel, as it enjoys views over the Tay Road bridge, and Scott's RRS Discovery. (must be worth a free nights for that)

Reception and Breakfast area is in the first floor, once seated you can see why they did so.

Very helpful staff, comfortable bed, please breakfast included in the price.

Will look to stay here if back in Dundee soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Onthespot

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
i was happy to read you had a lovely stay. Friendly staff, comfortable beds and a great view with breakfast.
This will only get better with the addition of the Victorian Albert Museum.

Thank you for such lovely comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

regards
Karen Gorman
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Address: 41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dundee 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Dundee is a stylish hotel offering an inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options. Within the hotel there is free wireless internet access throughout. All 95 bedrooms offer freeview television, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and power shower. Holiday Inn Express Dundee is perfectly located in the heart of Dundee City Centre just a 5 minute walk from both Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and HM Frigate Unicorn. For sports fans Holiday Inn Express Dundee is within easy reach of the Dundee International Sports Centre as well as Dundee United Football Club and Dundee Football Club. The hotel is perfectly situated for the Train Station and Bus Station and only a 5 minute taxi journey to Dundee Airport. For the keen golfers the Holiday Inn Express Dundee is well situated for Open Championship golf courses such as St Andrews and Carnoustie. The hotel has 2 great value meeting rooms which are modern, informal and ideal for presentations, interviews and training. Everything you need is included from audio visual and projection equipment to stationery. Buffet lunch and snacks can be arranged at an additional cost. Parking is available in the nearby Gellatly Street Council Car Park with an access bridge direct to reception from level 3 of the car park. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am with charges applicable outwith these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Hotel Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing