We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Stay here was great. Hotel is very stylish and there is a lot of space in the rooms. We had a triple room as there were 3 of us, we was very pleased as the sofabed was already made for us when we arrived which made things easier. The bed was really comfortable and it was quiet to get a decent nights sleep. Breakfast was included and this was nice. There was choice for every one from cereal, pastries and hot breakfast and it wasnt over crowded, creating a relaxed atsmophere. If we come back to Dundee in the future, we will definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Davina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Davina S,

Thank you for your 5 star review.
It is a pleasure to here that we are your hotel of choice in Dundee
Your positive feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Regards
Alison
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    269
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
111
200
44
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a perfectly good hotel to spend a few days. It does not have a restaurant on site but there are several excellent restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. The hotel includes a breakfast, self service buffet, not quite the full Scottish breakfast variety but good enough. The hotel does cater for a lot of coach parties and on checking we were asked to get down to breakfast early if we wanted to avoid the coach party. Having said that there was enough room and it did not feel cramped. Wifi is free but this is extremely slow. My room was at the very end of the corridor and therefore quiet, which was good. All the staff were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Choose a room far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny Boy 123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Danny Boy 123 ,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest review,
Its nice to hear your overall experience was positive and apologies for the slow internet connection you experienced.
I would like to inform you that we will soon be offering a small menu for food in the evenings for guests that would prefer to relax in house, we hope you will return to give us your feedback.

Regards
Alison
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Clean, spacious rooms. Staff is friendly. The hotel also offers complimentary wi-fi. The location is good for train station access, the McManus museum, the University of Dundee, etc. Breakfast is adequate, although not particularly interesting. In sum, it's a decent place to stay for a Dundee visit.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that does not overlook Dock St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Kirsty,

Thank you for your positive review,
I am please you enjoyed your stay with our hotel taking advantage of the facilities and the surrounding attractions,
I have passed on your kind comments regarding our team and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Alison
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Clean and comfortable. Friendly, efficient staff. The hotel is perfectly adequate for a business or any kind of short stop-over and offers reasonable facilities including free wi-fi. It is also well- situated, a short walk from the railway station and on the waterfront, which is currently undergoing a massive and very promising makeover.

Breakfast self serve and no great shakes but more or less what you would expect.

The Dock Road is also a little noisy so may not suit lighter sleepers. Wasn't a problem for me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mike H,
Thank you for your positive review,
I hope you will return to our hotel in the near future to see the further developments of the City.
Regards
Alison
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night as we were visiting relatives. Had a double room with sofa bed for 1 adult and 2 teens. The Room was a little small for us but fine for just 1 night as we were not in there long. It was very clean in the room and other areas of the hotel. Staff were most helpful and friendly. We were very pleased that they allowed my cousin and partner to meet us for a drink in the bar area. It was a Saturday night and would not have been easy to meet them for a drink with 2 teenagers in the city centre. Nice view of the Tay bridge from the bar/lounge area and only a 5 minute walk to the city centre and shopping mall. The road layout driving up to the hotel is a bit messy and we managed to find ourselves on the bridge and had to go over, round the roundabout and back again.However the car park was easier to access when coming from the other direction, it is a pay before you exit car park which we knew about before we arrived, so be aware of accounting for parking costs if your driving. All in all a pleasant stay but next time I would book 2 rooms rather than cramming us all in to 1.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Lorraine_CInverness,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,
your honest comments are appreciated.
next time you visit us we will try our best to allocate you and your family with a connecting room.
Regards
Alison
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Where do I start. Difficult to find if you driving you will pass it. Walking go slow or you will miss it. No evening food. List of restaurants poor. Breakfast hardly cooked raw sausages and no bacon and no where to sit. Not enough tables for the number of possible guests. Only good points I can find the bed is comfortable. Room clean. Sadly not much else

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Glenn R

I was sorry to read you found us difficult to find, directions to the hotel are available on our website,
We have a list of restaurant with a 5 minute walk available at reception on request, also all staff at reception are able to advise on restaurants within the immediate area.
All cooked food is temperatire checked to ensure it is fully cooked before being served to guests at breakfast. We offer 3 hot options Sausages,Scrambles eggs and beans along with our continental style breakfast. As breakfast is a buffet there can be very busy periods.
I am glad to read you found the rooms clean and the bed comfortable.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here in Dundee, we appreciate all comments.

Kind Regards
Karen
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Good hotel for the price you pay, cost wise similar to a travelodge but I'd much rather stay in this chain any day of the week.
The rooms are clean and relatively fresh looking.
Free wifi, it's slow but realistically it's only ever gonna be used for Facebook and emails so it's useable.
Location is right next to the city centre which is handy.
The only downside I can note is the woman on reception the evening I checked in was rather rude. There was a problem with my booking which was made through a 3rd party, even though she eventually solved the issue she made a massive drama over the whole situation

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riddocjl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Riddocjl01,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. It was wonderful to have you stay with us and I am pleased to note you found the hotel clean and fresh. The free Wi-Fi can get a little slow when there are many people connected however I hope this does not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.

I was very concerned to note the issue you had with a member of the team on duty on the day you checked in, and please be assured this will be dealt with.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dundee.

Regards

Graeme Shewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.5 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Address: 41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dundee 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Dundee is a stylish hotel offering an inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options. Within the hotel there is free wireless internet access throughout. All 95 bedrooms offer freeview television, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and power shower. Holiday Inn Express Dundee is perfectly located in the heart of Dundee City Centre just a 5 minute walk from both Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and HM Frigate Unicorn. For sports fans Holiday Inn Express Dundee is within easy reach of the Dundee International Sports Centre as well as Dundee United Football Club and Dundee Football Club. The hotel is perfectly situated for the Train Station and Bus Station and only a 5 minute taxi journey to Dundee Airport. For the keen golfers the Holiday Inn Express Dundee is well situated for Open Championship golf courses such as St Andrews and Carnoustie. The hotel has 2 great value meeting rooms which are modern, informal and ideal for presentations, interviews and training. Everything you need is included from audio visual and projection equipment to stationery. Buffet lunch and snacks can be arranged at an additional cost. Parking is available in the nearby Gellatly Street Council Car Park with an access bridge direct to reception from level 3 of the car park. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am with charges applicable outwith these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Hotel Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing