We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding venue” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forbes of Kingennie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forbes of Kingennie
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in Lyon and found it to be very dated and not very clean, grubby would be a good word, certainly not luxurious, the kickboards in the kitchen dropped to the floor when I opened the cupboard, (the clips were broken) the wooden floor in the living space/kitchen/dining space is in desperate need of sanding/polishing or better still a carpet which would dampen the noise generated by my two year old grandson running the length of the lodge at 6am. My pillows failed the 'over the wrist' test miserably and smelled of stale sweat, thankfully I brought my own. Adequate and functional, not luxurious. There is no WiFi in the lodges and only a slow service in the bar, not good. There is a playpark which is neglected and in dire need of a re think. The family had come together from all parts of the UK and the wedding was a huge success thanks largely to the efforts of Lauren who managed the ceremony by herself until the late shift arrived and Lisa who went well beyond the call of duty in assuring us of her best attention. When the day after the wedding we were having a family meal and needed a high chair, they were all being used, our Lisa went the extra mile and brought her own bumper seat from her own car for our use, now that is hospitality, thinking on your feet and decency, lovely girl! Worth a pat on the back Mr Forbes.

Room Tip: I only entered three. Bard's Neuk 4star. The Boat house 4star. Glen Lyon good for stag do's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to here that your stay was not up to the standard that we aim to achieve here at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort. The issues that you have mentioned about our Glen Lyon lodge have all been rectified. Glen Lyon is one of our older lodges at the resort, however we do want to ensure all lodges are of the highest standard possible.

As for the WiFi, it is something that we are currently putting in to all of our lodges as we understand it is of high value to our guests.

We have taken on board your comments concerning our play park and it is something we are looking to up date in the future.

Lisa is a valued member of our team, and I will certainly let Mr.Forbes know about your positive feedback.

We hope your flawed experience at Forbes of Kingennie does not taint future visits. If we would like to speak further about the matter then our General Manager, Andrew Mackenzie, would be happy to help, at amackenzie@forbesofkingennie.com or on 01382 350777.

With Thanks,

Kingennie Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    44
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
122
67
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th year staying in the Leannen boat house, it is sheer bliss especially when you open your bedroom door on to decking on a lake, the time we were privileged to have 2 swans come right up to us on the lake.The menu is very good the food superb and the scenery is just awesome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skywalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor to the Leannan Boathouse, it is a beautiful lodge that we take pride in, so it is lovely to hear that you enjoy staying there.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you next year for your fifth year at the Leannan.

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Cabin is lovely ,more like a modern house .great dining space seating for six ,excellent kitchen facilities ,large fridge ,dishwasher ,etc. Best of all is the view from the balcony at front. We had one of the larger cabins first time ,smaller cabin needed larger fridge ,as floor level not so easy access.

Room Tip: larger lodges are best ,stayed in both .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikalexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you have had a great stay with us. The views and scenery around the resort are something we love ourselves, and it's great to hear that you have enjoyed them from the lodge balcony too.

We hope to see you again soon.

With thanks,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I have just over 3 weeks until myself and my partner get married at the beautiful forbes of kingennie and I just wanted to write a small review for all those other brides who have either booked this venue for their special day or who are considering it.

I could not imagine marrying my soul mate at any other venue than at forbes of kingennie. It is paradise. Not only are you surrounded by the most stunning views but the staff there could literally not do enough to help you. From the very beginning (over a year ago) up until this point I have been treated like an absolute princess. Nothing is too much for the team.

The food is beautifully presented and the food is by far the best I have experienced (apart from my mum's of course - I have to say that lol) the venue at every visit is immaculate and always perfect on presentation. The staff who work there clearly love their jobs as it comes across whenever you speak to them either on the phone or at the venue itself.

No question is too stupid. If your stuck and not quite sure you can pick up the phone and get your answer straight away.
My wedding coordinater louise can only be described as an absolute gem. If you book your wedding here louise will take you under her wing and support you throughout. Even when you have a brizezilla moment and your not too sure what's going on louise will reassure you and get you back on track. I have complete and utter faith in the team and especially louise at delivering the wedding I have always dreamed of and I cannot thank her enough for her support and guidance.

Book forbes of kingennie for your wedding you will not be disappointed!

One forever happy bride to be ☺

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snuggles1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear bride-to-be,

Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you are looking forward to having your wedding with us and enjoying the process of working with our team to create your ideal wedding day.

I will pass on your encouraging words to our staff. We are looking forward to making your big day as special and memorable as possible.

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We returned to Kingennie arriving on the16 March. On this occasion we stayed at Glen Prosen for six nights and it was lovely. From the moment we arrived and until our departure all the team made us feel very welcome.The lodge was to the usual very high standard warm and cosy and very comfortable indeed. Special mention to Keith for providing attentive service when we visited the restaurant. Our holiday was complete with the the great fishing thanks Jonny, Grant and Chris. In addition seeing the arrival of the Osprey was such a treat.

We hope to return in September

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent return visit. I am delighted to hear you had another lovely stay and am especially glad to hear the team looked after you well. I am glad to hear the Osprey timed his arrival back during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the kingennie court north lodge which was brilliant. The lodge was immaculate and very spacious. The views over the golf course were amazing as well. All bedrooms in the lodge are ensuite with showers which was ideal since there was 10 adults and an infant in our party. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything that we needed. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to hear your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I booked the Glen Isla lodge for 3 nights. The lodge was perfect with everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. The surrounding are amazing, we enjoyed some golf and putting. We had friends over to have lunch with us in the restaurant and the food and service were 1st class. We had such an enjoyable and relaxing break we will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladiesthatlunch2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and am especially pleased to hear you will be back next year. Its great you managed to make the most of the activities and restaurant during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
5.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.1 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Property: Forbes of Kingennie
Address: Kingennie, Dundee dd53rd, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing