We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class - comfortable, clean, great location and amazing brekkie!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abertay Guest House
Ranked #7 of 23 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Abertay Guest House could teach a few hotels a thing or too about hospitality - Catherine is an outstanding hostess with relentless enthusiasm for ensuring her guests have a great stay.
My room was at the top of the house, and had great views over the Tay - very clean, spacious and comfortable, and I didn't hear any noise from any of the other guests. I was unable to connect to the WiFi - but that was a minor issue, and it was nice not to have to worry about work for once.
Breakfast was definitely the highlight - a lovely range of delicious morning meals, plated up in very generous portions and served with outstanding service and a smile from Catherine - it certainly set me up for the day!
Quite unusually for me, I haven't got one single complaint about the Abertay Guest House - it was a great place to stay, in a lovely location and for excellent value. I'll definitely be staying here next time in an in Dundee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

i stayed in the the abertay for four nights in early september the rooms were comfortable clean, and brilliantly looked after and the breakfast was out of this world the staff were lovely and very welcoming, a little home from home, many thanks for making my stay so pleasant, many thanks, and i would definately stay there again on my future visits

Room Tip: all rooms are to a very high standard real value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Had a 2 night stay for the air show and was really pleased with our choice of accomodation. The Owners were very friendly & accommodating for any extra requests and the room was spotless. I also loved the 'family feel' of the place which made it very homely. Room 4 was very stylish with beautiful bedding and towels. We would definitely stay again. Thanks.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JennyR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Abertay Guest house, that is home to the 'Secret Garden' tea room, is a little gem.
We have just returned from a 4 night stay and we loved it.
The owners are just so friendly and helpful in every way - room great, it overlooked the garden and aviary - so every morning it was a joy to open the curtains.
Breakfast more than adequate - would not hesitate in recommending this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

this i a lovely place to eat the garden is lovely the owner is very nice a bit hidden away but very good. the food was great will defo return here fantastic place the garden has an avery in it with different birds

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This Guest House is absolutely beautiful. Our room was right up the top and was beautifully furnished. The owners have taken great pride in providing wonderful service. Everything about this Guest House is top notch. Its a short walk down to the beach and the local village. They have a lovley garden out the back with a bird avery and if weather permits outdoor seating. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stay at this guest house each week for 2 nights a week it is the cleanest and most friendliest experience i have ever come across. I travel regularly with my work and Kate and Karl are the most dedicated proprietors i have ever met x They are always smiling and treat me like one of the family . Breakfast is amazing i would recomend this place to anybody thank you Kate and Karl xxxx From Amanda Taylor Liverpool Mandy for short xxx

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Stonelee Guest House
Stonelee Guest House
#8 of 23 in Dundee
20 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#3 of 28 in Dundee
1,402 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abertay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abertay Guest House

Address: 65 Monifieth Road, Dundee DD5 2RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £66 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abertay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Abertay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abertay Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing