We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abertay Guest House
Ranked #7 of 24 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This place exceeded my expectations by far!! It is such a lovely, cozy place and the owner Catherine is super friendly. The room was very clean and smelled so good. The bathroom was also very clean and smelled very fresh. The breakfast was exceptional and very well prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmenPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been travelling to Dundee for business for years and have always opted for the cheap hotel route and this was the first time I had used a Bed and breakfast.

I am now a convert to the world of B & B, the whole experience from the moment I walked into the cosy hallway and was met by the super friendly owners to the stunning breakfast, the onsite games room with pool table, lounge with games, tv, music system, bar, luxury bedroom with ensuite, quaity bed linen and pillows, vast array of room facilities. It literally knocked the spots off of the Premier Inn and other hotel options.

A fantastic experience, marvellous owners and i for one will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Abertay Guest House could teach a few hotels a thing or too about hospitality - Catherine is an outstanding hostess with relentless enthusiasm for ensuring her guests have a great stay.
My room was at the top of the house, and had great views over the Tay - very clean, spacious and comfortable, and I didn't hear any noise from any of the other guests. I was unable to connect to the WiFi - but that was a minor issue, and it was nice not to have to worry about work for once.
Breakfast was definitely the highlight - a lovely range of delicious morning meals, plated up in very generous portions and served with outstanding service and a smile from Catherine - it certainly set me up for the day!
Quite unusually for me, I haven't got one single complaint about the Abertay Guest House - it was a great place to stay, in a lovely location and for excellent value. I'll definitely be staying here next time in an in Dundee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

i stayed in the the abertay for four nights in early september the rooms were comfortable clean, and brilliantly looked after and the breakfast was out of this world the staff were lovely and very welcoming, a little home from home, many thanks for making my stay so pleasant, many thanks, and i would definately stay there again on my future visits

Room Tip: all rooms are to a very high standard real value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Had a 2 night stay for the air show and was really pleased with our choice of accomodation. The Owners were very friendly & accommodating for any extra requests and the room was spotless. I also loved the 'family feel' of the place which made it very homely. Room 4 was very stylish with beautiful bedding and towels. We would definitely stay again. Thanks.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JennyR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Abertay Guest house, that is home to the 'Secret Garden' tea room, is a little gem.
We have just returned from a 4 night stay and we loved it.
The owners are just so friendly and helpful in every way - room great, it overlooked the garden and aviary - so every morning it was a joy to open the curtains.
Breakfast more than adequate - would not hesitate in recommending this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

this i a lovely place to eat the garden is lovely the owner is very nice a bit hidden away but very good. the food was great will defo return here fantastic place the garden has an avery in it with different birds

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
4.1 mi away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#3 of 28 in Dundee
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abertay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abertay Guest House

Address: 65 Monifieth Road, Dundee DD5 2RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £81 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abertay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Abertay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abertay Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing