We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house and lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abertay Guest House
Ranked #7 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house and lovely people”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for one night and would definitely go back. Breakfast was great, wide variety and very tasty. The room was a twin, a wee bit on the small side but was clean and comfortable. The people were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smittieswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    7
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
18
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here in August 2012 the night before my wedding. As you can imagine I needed a stressfree nice place to stay with my bridesmaids. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and extremely accommodating. It felt like a home away from home. Would recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravensgirl80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My mum and dad stayed here in early July. They were coming through to visit my wife and I for a weekend.
All my mum kept saying was, "give this place a good review, it's been just great and the people are lovely."
Nuff said.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

On arriving at Abertay Guest House with reservation confirmation in hand only to be told I did not have a reservation. Then after further checking owner stated she had put my name down wrong. My reservation was made on a pet friendly web site and stated on my confirmation I had a dog and total cost for my stay. Proprietor told me they did not accept dogs but then decided they could put me next door at an extra charge. I said there was not any mention of an extra charge when booking on the web site, owners replied, in not the best of manor, she is telling me now. There was other guests waiting to check in at the time and I found the situation embarrassing and decided to leave. As I had not complained about my treatment at the time (didn't want any more of a scene) I made a phone call to convey my displeasure. Again this woman was extremely rude and I could not get a word in, she was also telling me how stressed SHE was. So if you want a relaxing weekend away don't go to Abertay guest house and have to deal with someone else's stress.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
59 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a lovely, lovely place to stay in Broughty Ferry. Close to the beach and town centre (a few minutes walk), The Victor's welcome you into their guest house like you're family. Bring a good book so that you can relax in the garden with the birds and the family cat. Plenty of privacy. The rooms are well appointed and the linens are decadent!!

Room Tip: Naturally, you'll want a garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Abertay Guest house is very good! They advertise a café and garden/aviary behind the house. This is a great little attraction and its definitely something I will recommend to my friends in the area. The B&B is just what I look for! Clean, spacious, friendly and a very good breakfast. Above all I found it very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsbob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed at the Abertay last week when I found myself in need of an overnight stay in Broughty Ferry, The owner was very friendly and accomodating and easy to deal with. The other guests in the morning were also of a high calibre.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Abertay for anyone looking for an easy place for a quick stopover. I will definitely plan ahead and stay longer the next time.

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmcDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#16 of 28 in Dundee
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 28 in Dundee
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonelee Guest House
Stonelee Guest House
#8 of 22 in Dundee
15 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aabalree Guest House
Aabalree Guest House
#6 of 22 in Dundee
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abertay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abertay Guest House

Property: Abertay Guest House
Address: 65 Monifieth Road, Dundee DD5 2RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abertay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abertay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abertay Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing