We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better than a premier inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abertay Guest House
Ranked #7 of 24 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed there for a wedding recently and the place was great. Kate was extremely accommodating and friendly. The place was very clean and the breakfast was great. It's nice to stay somewhere with a personal touch. Would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2010

Exellent service stayed in Deluxe family room with three beds and en -suite for three weeks,bed breakfast and eveing meals which were top quality and of a great variety,none of your usual suck and see rubbish,Carl and Catherine are recently over from Austaila and i guess you could say they feel are winter time more than we do,so ther was no shortage of heat in the place,cleanleness was 110%,also inc was complementory drinks with dinner,this couple know what a customer wants,and know how to run a hotel,steve.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elevatorprojects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Upon arrival Kate, the "hostess" began by trying to increase the room rate quoted and queried whether we expected breakfast for our 4 children, as "she felt" she should be charging us more for this, even though we had made our booking - for 14 nights - at the advertised rates on her website. The haranguing did not end there - the owner seeing fit to continue to drop hints at every opportunity that she wanted to charge us more for our stay. When we settled in our room (yes one room, although we had been led to believe we would be occupying a Family Suite!) it quickly became apparent that the room was inadequately heated and that the windows may as well have not been there. The heating was switched off at 10pm, even though this was on 6th January and the temperature was -7 degrees Celsius outside. The temperature in the room quickly dropped to around that same level. The oldest of our children is 11 and our youngest just 2 years old. It got so cold they could not sleep and were very upset. When we attempted to question why the heating had been switched off, we were told by the owner (Kate) that a little cold would do our children no harm and that she had been raised in a house that got much colder than we had just experienced! My wife and I have never been so insulted; we were absolutely staggered and appalled at the attitude and callous nature of this vile individual. The owner (Kate) of this guest house does not have any concern for her guests welfare or comfort, her sole concern is extracting as much of your money from you as possible. If this guest house gets any repeat business, it must be from people with masochistic tendencies. We paid for the one night spent there and promptly left having secured accommodation in a nearby Premier Inn for the remaining 13 nights of our stay in Broughty Ferry.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
79  Thank justeun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Though I was on business Dundee is a fascinating art cultural city with so much to see, sadly I was working but it is on my bucket list to visit at leisure. I received a very friendly welcome at The Abertay Guest House, a large typical local built house. Nicely decorated. As I just finished registering I was offered a glass of wine, lovely Katherine also reads minds!
My room was lovely decorated and I felt safe and very comfortable. They cooked a great pork stir fry followed by apple crumble as I was not in the mood to travel any further (having flown up from London to Glasgow). The night was quiet and the bed very comfortable so I felt refreshed to travel on (after a well cooked breakfast!).
Would recommend this guest house to anyone as they had all manner of rooms available.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Design4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank edithdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbertayGuestHouse, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: A lakosztályba csak benéztünk, de tuti választás lett volna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tomikaga73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbertayGuestHouse, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Valeria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
4.1 mi away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#3 of 28 in Dundee
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abertay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abertay Guest House

Address: 65 Monifieth Road, Dundee DD5 2RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £86 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abertay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Abertay Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing