We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel but right above a nightclub earplugs a must” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fort Hotel

The Fort Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fort Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice hotel but right above a nightclub earplugs a must”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped here in mid October for three nights as we where in Broughty Ferry for some friends wedding reception. Check in is a little peculiar as if the reception is closed you have to check in via the bar next door. As it was busy this was not a quick experience but once checked in we went to our recently refurbished room which was excellent. The only downsides where that as we whee at the front of the hotel we had large halogen lights right outside or room which illuminated our room all night as they where never turned off Blackout blinds or even some curtains would resolve this issue. Along with this we where right above the hotels nightclub which is the only one in the town and had pounding music until 2-3am each night. This wasn't a concern for two nights as we where patrons in the nightclub but the third night when we wanted a good nights sleep for our long trip back home it's a little difficult to sleep when it feels like you're in a disco. Breakfast was quickly served and very nice and the rooms where cleaned to a very good standard. We would stop here again but would ask for a room further away or stop on nights when the nightclub closed earlier.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    23
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
27
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at the Fort Hotel recently and was very impressed by the rooms. Fresh, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was nice and food reasonable. The staff were lovely and welcoming but most of all very helpful. Will definitely stay again. Broughty Ferry is a beautiful place to stay. Thank You!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

stayed in the fort 2nd august 2013, staff were lovely, stayed in the newly refurbished rooms and found them excellent. enjoyed the karaoke at night, fab place for a drink and a laugh. only downside was the breakfast wasn't that great, food was only tepid and very unappetising.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Having been to Fort last year, I found the food to be tasteless, which was unusual as they are normally quite good, I thought maybe a one off.
Went in today and I must say, it is not any better, could say its worst, the Macaroni Cheese was disgusting, the chips weren't good, we were a table of 11 and the few that did have it were not amused, if I wasn't in such a big group and it wasn't a special occasion I would of put it back, the cheese board was good, too much biscuits, no grapes, which is a must with cheese boards, Latte was great.
So overall, coffee at Fort, definitely yes, food no!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Disappointed123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Usually food here is good but having tasted disgusting cold tasteless food i felt i had to write a review. Fish tastless ..chilli tasteless and cold..burger cold. Price was a joke for what we ate also!Thumbs down!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Frenchfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Having had to cut short a walk at the Grassy Beach because of inclement weather, took my friends to this hotel. Enjoyed a lovely cup of coffee and a fruit scone in very nice surroundings. The service was good as was the scones and coffee and the cost was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Fort Hotel in Dundee has a somewhat unique setup. The hotel rooms are located in a renovated building across the street from the Pub/restaurant where you register and have your breakfast. The room are modern, comfortable and secure with excellent bathroom facilites. The hotel is convenient to the town center which offers a range a small restaurants and coffee shops. Good value for money in a convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
3.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Hotel

Property: The Fort Hotel
Address: 48-60 Fort Street, Dundee DD5 2AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fort Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Fort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing