We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aabalree Guest House

Aabalree Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aabalree Guest House
Ranked #5 of 21 Dundee B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

A great place to stay while in Dundee, the B&B is full of character that hotels may lack. A warm friendly atmosphere and very comfortable rooms. The location and price is perfect. Linda offers up a great breakfast, and John makes you feel very welcome with his hospitality.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
2
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I highly recommend staying at the Aabalree Guest house in Dundee. Not only is the location great, the room provided is large, the bed is comfy and with a new bedding. The friendly hosts, Linda and John, make sure that guests are greeted with a tasty homemade breakfast in the morning and that they leave to do their business in town in good spirits. With their warmth and excellent sense of humor, Linda and John truly represent Scottish hospitality.
I loved staying at the Aabalree Guest House and will definitely choose to stay there when I come back to visit Dundee again.

Erika (Lithuania) - September, 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I recently spent 4 nights in Dundee at a Print Conference and stayed at the Aabalree Guest House.
John and Linda must run the best low priced BnB in Dundee - maybe in all of Scotland. They are a very friendly and helpful couple, my room was clean, light and the bed comfortable. Linda does a wicked breakfast and on the weekend when I had to leave early she made me an early breakfast and packed me off with a home made muffin for the drive home.
Their guest house is about two minutes away from the station and lies in the heart of Dundee. This place is a gem

Room Tip: I was on the top floor and found it surprisingly quiet for the middle of town. Slept like a log
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Ideal if you're on a budget and want to see what Dundee has to offer. Being on Union Street means you are central to everything, with restaurants and bars close by, as is the shopping and the attractions such as Discovery Point.

The rooms are clean, with a washbasin in each, as well as comfortable bed. No partying in the rooms, (that's what the clubs and pubs are for), so you get a great nights sleep. The owners John and Linda are friendly and chatty, and do a fantastic breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you're staying for the weekend, and want an early night, as the pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Myself and a colleague needed last minute accommodation in Dundee for work purposes late September 2012. My wife only called on the day of arrival and John was very helpful in confirming availability of a large room and did not need any payment before hand. Were given directions of where to park prior to arrival, which was extremely helpful after a long 9hr drive from Wales. Rooms very comfortable, clean and tidy. Shared bathroom but this was adequate as there were 2 bathrooms for 5 rooms so access was easy. Breakfast was outstanding, not only could you have a beautiful cooked breakfast but there were also muffins available for dessert!! Having stayed at numerous other B & B's across the country, a great breakfast helps when you are away from home. We overheard various other people asking for different items, nothing seemed to be a problem. Initial access to the property is gained by ringing a buzzer but you are given a key thereafter. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone needing rooms in Dundee. Thanks to John and Lyn for your welcoming hospitality, it was really appreciated. Would use again if we ever need to travel to Dundee.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

hi i stayed on 15 sept it was my 6 stay very good all the time great welcome warm clean great breakfast at the time you want it handy for food and drink and at the right price cant understand the bad reports i come to dundee to work and will always stay at the aabalree thanks john /lyn see you soon mk

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikek307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Central location (so expect some noise from local pubs etc), close to station ( 2 mins walk) ,
with a lovely welcome. Rooms dated but clean ( no en suite) and brilliant value for money. We would use again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aabalree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aabalree Guest House

Property: Aabalree Guest House
Address: 20 Union Street, Dundee DD1 4BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aabalree Guest House is situated in the city centre and is in walking distance of both Universities. Bus and taxi services from outside our doorstep and The Caird hall is a 1 minute walk around the corner. All types of eateries are within yards of us and a bus service to St Andrews is over the road every 20 minutes during the day. We have 14 rooms which are single, twin, Double and very large triple rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aabalree Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing