We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome assured”

Aabalree Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aabalree Guest House
Ranked #4 of 24 Dundee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

John and Linda are the perfect hosts and guests are made very welcome. Rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean with generous supplies of tea and coffee provided. Breakfast is excellent and always served with a smile. The guest house is located in the city centre - a short hop from the rail station - and a perfect base for exploring Dundee and the surrounding area. This is the best value-for-money in town!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabalree, Owner at Aabalree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you very much for those kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

on arrival we had a lovely welcome from linda who had reserved our group 4 rooms all next to eachother on the same floor, me an my friend had ordered a twin room but were given a large triple room with tea and coffee making fcilities and a 40inch tv which was a nice surprise.

we were in dundee to watch the football so for us the location was perfect being right in the middle of all the pubs with takeaways and restaraunts all within the immediate area. the main shopping area is litterally at the top of the street along with a taxi rank and all the main bus route also the train station is just a 5 min walk away. we found the people of dundee to be very welcoming and friendly with us and even had a whole pub singing along with us to blue moon on the karaoke!

after a good nights sleep in a very comfy bed we went downstairs to breakfast and were asked what we would like for our cooked breakfast and offered tea/coffee, fruit juice and cereals also home cooked muffins (i've just eaten a chocolate one which i was invited to take home with me and it was gorgeous!). the breakfast was very nice.

thanks very much to john and linda from all our group (the man city fans) for making our stay an enjoyable one and we will be returning very soon

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinn665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabalree, Owner at Aabalree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for those kind words Colin you guys are welcome back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Thanks again john /linda stayed 21dec and again 14/15 feb good as always in dundee again to work .best place to stay right in town every thing you need . Price is good. Bed rooms good food good great hospitality hope i can return before i retyre in may if not thank you both and good luck mike

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikek307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabalree, Owner at Aabalree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thanks hope you are enjoying your retirement and pay us a visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A great place to stay while in Dundee, the B&B is full of character that hotels may lack. A warm friendly atmosphere and very comfortable rooms. The location and price is perfect. Linda offers up a great breakfast, and John makes you feel very welcome with his hospitality.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabalree, Owner at Aabalree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I highly recommend staying at the Aabalree Guest house in Dundee. Not only is the location great, the room provided is large, the bed is comfy and with a new bedding. The friendly hosts, Linda and John, make sure that guests are greeted with a tasty homemade breakfast in the morning and that they leave to do their business in town in good spirits. With their warmth and excellent sense of humor, Linda and John truly represent Scottish hospitality.
I loved staying at the Aabalree Guest House and will definitely choose to stay there when I come back to visit Dundee again.

Erika (Lithuania) - September, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabalree, Owner at Aabalree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I recently spent 4 nights in Dundee at a Print Conference and stayed at the Aabalree Guest House.
John and Linda must run the best low priced BnB in Dundee - maybe in all of Scotland. They are a very friendly and helpful couple, my room was clean, light and the bed comfortable. Linda does a wicked breakfast and on the weekend when I had to leave early she made me an early breakfast and packed me off with a home made muffin for the drive home.
Their guest house is about two minutes away from the station and lies in the heart of Dundee. This place is a gem

Room Tip: I was on the top floor and found it surprisingly quiet for the middle of town. Slept like a log
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabalree, Owner at Aabalree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Ideal if you're on a budget and want to see what Dundee has to offer. Being on Union Street means you are central to everything, with restaurants and bars close by, as is the shopping and the attractions such as Discovery Point.

The rooms are clean, with a washbasin in each, as well as comfortable bed. No partying in the rooms, (that's what the clubs and pubs are for), so you get a great nights sleep. The owners John and Linda are friendly and chatty, and do a fantastic breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you're staying for the weekend, and want an early night, as the pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabalree, Owner at Aabalree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for those kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.7 mi away
Taypark House
Taypark House
#2 of 24 in Dundee
128 reviews
1.6 mi away
Errolbank Guesthouse
Errolbank Guesthouse
#16 of 24 in Dundee
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shaftesbury Lodge
Shaftesbury Lodge
#3 of 24 in Dundee
154 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aabalree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aabalree Guest House

Address: 20 Union Street, Dundee DD1 4BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £52 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aabalree Guest House is situated in the city centre and is in walking distance of both Universities. Bus and taxi services from outside our doorstep and The Caird hall is a 1 minute walk around the corner. All types of eateries are within yards of us and a bus service to St Andrews is over the road every 20 minutes during the day. We have 14 rooms which are single, twin, Double and very large triple rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aabalree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aabalree Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing