We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverside Inn

The Riverside Inn
Ranked #72 of 371 Restaurants in Dundee
Price range: US$10 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Riverside Drive right next to the River Tay and Dundee Airport your sure to be impressed with the stunning views and the excitement of being right next to the runway.We’d like you to leave The Riverside Inn with a smile on your face and while that’s usually down to the company you’re with, we’d like to think our friendly service, delicious food, convivial atmosphere and warm welcome can help make any occasion special.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for some lunch. Wasn't very good. Service was slow, food wasn't either tasty or particularly hot! The staff were rushed off there feet and it wasn't really that busy. No manager in sight! Went down hill!

Helpful?
Thank Rabd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    194
    117
    94
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dreadful customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My son and I had gone to Riverside Inn just after 6 pm on a Monday evening - we hadn't booked . On arrival we waited at the small front desk where a sign is displayed asking the customer to " wait to be seated". This we did along with a group of 4 people similarly waiting to be seated. A male staff member appeared carrying a pile of menus he ignored us and the other party and proceeded to arrange said menus in some desired order. The other party of 4 looked lost and bewildered as the staff member continued to arrange the sheets of card . When he DID decide to acknowledge our existence he casually assigned a table for the group and pointed obscurely to where they should sit. He then, without lifting his head, asked how he could help (!) My son asked for a table for 2 and we were told it would be at least 20 mins........... there empty table all around us!! I have never experienced such bad service - very rude and unprofessional. It's my first experience of the place and I won't be returning. I've had to rate the food etc as 1 because my review won't be accepted without doing so but if the food is as bad as the service........well. Training is most certainly required!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch for grandad and the grandchildren!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I took two of my grandchildren, aged 9 and 7, for lunch today, Saturday. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were seated in a quiet "booth" with a television. The menu had everything we might want for lunch. I had chilli chicken goujons, followed by scampi, chips and peas. My grandson, 9, had chicken nuggets, chips and salad. My granddaughter, 7, had sausages, mash and peas. For dessert I had a deliciously sweet Pimms Jelly Royale with clotted cream ice-cream and strawberry sauce. The 9 year old had Banoffee pie with clotted cream ice -cream and the 7 year old had a huge helping of chocolate fudge cake and clotted cream ice-cream. With drinks the bill came to £30 - excellent value. There will definitely be a return visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank s3rjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No problems with this place at all...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Unlike some others who like to whinge all the time, we have never had any problems with this pub at all. If you want AAA service pay for it....mind you maybe you are slightly too tight to do so you tightwad????

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPerthScotland40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disgusted Loyal Customer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Every week I'm down for some drinks or Food with family as it's a 2 minute walk from my house, but after yesterday i won't be back. I called to book a table for the 13th of June (plenty notice) for a party of 17 including a high chair as it was my eldest's 30th and was told we couldn't have a table that large at 18.00, i then asked for Saturday at 14.00 and was told that it would have be 12.00 as the chef has to make sure that all the food comes out HOT at the same time! So when i put to the Manager that if 3 tables of 6 oredered at the same time the food would still have to be out hot, this was met with silence. I can't believe in this economic climate that establishment could afford to turn down business! Absolutely disgusted by this treatment and they have just lost a loyal customer and his family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TyTzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverside Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing