We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Phoenix

The Phoenix
Ranked #110 of 374 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a real pub, great place, fab food, great place to meet mates. This is where I take my mates for a taste of Fundee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    40
    6
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect pints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent selection of beers and spirits and a great atmosphere, even when it's busy. Perfectly acceptable pub food too, if you fancy a bite.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Re Volatile Neil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just want to say, I was in The Phoenix on Monday evening and assume that Dr03nna, or her friend, was the lovely lady rolling about the bar pished - one of the couple went outside brieflyand returned to announce "I'VE JUST BEEN SICK IN THE ALLEY".

If I were 'Volatile Neil', I would not have ask the ladies to finish their drknks but immediately leave before calling the police.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PenguinsAreComing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VOLATILE NEIL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was in The Phoenix last night monday 6th May with my friend.There was a few people,not that many sitting watching the football,Liverpool were playing.When the football was finished i asked the barman if he would put on some music but he said its up to him,him being Neil,if that was his proper name,so i asked neil politely if he could put on the music and he ranted on about me not being a regular while pointing his finger aggressively in my face.I pointed out to neil at this point what a big brave man he was to speak to and treat a lady in such a manner,there was only my friend and i and we were sitting having a quiet drink and do not expect to be spoken too like this in any circumstance.My husband and i have met and spoken to the owner of this bar and he is a lovely gentleman and i am positive he would not allow this kind of behavior in his establishment.i wont be back unless its with my husband and i am sure neil would not be as brave as he was last night

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dr03nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fish not fresh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

fish was frozen muck which is such a shame because arbroath is 25 mile up the road why are we going to brakes for our fish ?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Phoenix also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to The Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing