We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay clear!!!”
Review of Craigtay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigtay Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay clear!!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I recently had a stay here and was not impressed!!! Being a contractor I travel a lot and stay in many hotels and this is the worse place I have ever stayed!!! Although the staff are nice enough the rooms are disgusting and dated!! In the week I stayed not once did the room get cleaned, no fresh bedding or towels, there was wallpaper hanging off the walls and mould on the ceiling of the shower room!!
I payed 55 pound a night here and I have stayed in places half the price and had better service!!! Needless to say I will not return to this place and would advise anybody considering a stay to look else were there is a lot better places to stay for the price that these charge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonah5484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    17
    15
    43
See reviews for
18
35
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is true value for money. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very professional and attentive. Food was excellent too, try the battered fish it was wonderful, and breakfast was great. Service was very prompt. The bedroom was maybe a little tired, but better than I expected given what I was paying. Within walking distance of Dundee city centre. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone looking for a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beautiful and clean rooms. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. New manager was very helpful and friendly and gave a warm welcome when arriving to the hotel. Meals were lovely. Good value for money with food and rooms. Would highly recommend the hotel-even if it is only for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have stayed in many hotels over the years but I can honestly say hand on heart this is the worst place ever! The place is falling apart! I went for an overnight stay to visit family with the children. The place was dirty! we had no sleep as the beds we were all sleeping in we're so uncomfortable. Every metal spring on the matress could be felt. I had to ask the reception at 12 midnight for extra duvets so I could not feel the springs... She gave me matress protectors!! Don't look under the beds they are full of dirt, never been cleaned in years. The shower would not stay on, cracks in the toliet and the best one of all was the table lamp on my beside table... The switch to plug it in was at the other side if the room!! Haha. Funny now but I was in tears at the time , kids to! I complained and they looked shocked haha not funny!! I have since sent 15 emails and phones several times. Andrew the so called manager does nothing!!! Please stay clear folks you will hate it, sorry x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urquhart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have never actually been inside this hotel,as I have been informed by a member of staff that there is no wheelchair access into this hotel at all.This is not made at all clear in the list of facilities that are available at these premises.They really need to update their information,so that potential guests are aware that,if they,or any of their party are wheelchair users they cannot even access this hotel's public areas.I live in the City,and hopefully this will prevent anyone outwith Dundee making a mistake and booking here.GIVE IT A MISS,there are plenty of other good quality hotels in Dundee which will accommodate wheelchair users.

Room Tip: The hotel is completely unsuitable for wheelchair users according to the staff,therefore I cannot re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotswheelieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The craigtay hotel has the most friendly staff I like this hotel
due to the price is good and the rooms are well kept clean. The food is very good choice and a short walk to Dundee city centre with lots of shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Upon arrival the hotel looks very outdated and worn out from the outside with a very strange comic like sign.....the restaurant and bar area is set and presented to vey high standard....although the rooms need a major overhaul as they are really outdated!!....ok for a half decent budget hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.5 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 28 in Dundee
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
West Park
West Park
#26 of 28 in Dundee
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 28 in Dundee
101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigtay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigtay Hotel

Property: Craigtay Hotel
Address: 101 Broughty Ferry Road, Dundee DD4 6JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Craigtay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Craigtay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigtay Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing