We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We've stayed at Woodlands a few times over the past couple of years, always for just one night on our way north or south. It's our preferred hotel in the city - the Hilton's OK too, but very pricey.

The hotel is situated in a quiet, mostly residential, area at the back of Broughty Ferry. It's big on weddings and similar events, so don't necessarily expect peace and quiet. We asked for a quiet room this time - possibly not a great idea...

Our room (124) was situated above the kitchens (or at least above the extractor fan outlet). Noise was in fact not too much of an issue as things went quiet about 10pm and didn't start up again till 7 or so. However, the room was very small, a bit stuffy and had poor shower facilities - no water pressure, crooked shower door and a general air of decline. It was surprising, as other rooms have been good in the past.

The public rooms were much better - a decent bar with pleasant staff, and a pleasant dining room which is divided into 2 or 3 separate areas so doesn't seem too vast. Dinner was good - decent choice, mostly well presented (apart from a stray bit of past-it garnish), and a fair selection of wines by the glass as well as bottles.

Breakfast, however, was not up to the same standard. I guess they assume everyone wants a cooked breakfast, but the cold selection was minimal. Why no fresh fruit salad; why just low-fat flavoured yogurt?

Overall it's an OK 3-star hotel. A bit of attention to some of the older bedrooms, plus a revised breakfast menu, would lift it towards 4-stardom. We'll probably be back, though, as it is good value and handily situated.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarsach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

We too were in the attic – but it was great. Yes, we had fans as well and the window was open for the most part but I would rather of stayed in the attic room where it was cosy and full of character. The room itself was very clean, bed – very comfy, both had excellent nights sleep, enough hanging and storage space for a couple staying 4 nights, big flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. The bathroom – very clean, shower not as powerful as some of their rooms but perfectly adequate. The leisure facilities are excellent. The sauna and steam room were first class and the staff should be commended on how they upkeep these facilities to keep them looking so new and fresh. As to the hotel staff, they are all happy to help and very welcoming. It is always a pleasure to visit the Woodlands and it is easy to recommend for both business or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you like your warmth - then the attic is the place for you. If you don't maybe request one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 273Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Check-in was smooth but when we got to our room (attic room in the old part of the building) it was ridiculously hot.
It's obviously a constant problem as there were 3 floor fans already there.
We asked to be moved but unfortunately there were no rooms avauilable in the newer part of the hotel so we ended up with a very restless night.
A twin room was available the next day which we agreed to take, even with the warning that it would be noisy because it was close to the function suite and there were two weddings on over the next two days.
The manager discounted our bill because of the inconvenience and also arranged for our bags to be transferred to the new room while we were out-couldn't ask for much more than that.
We ate in the restaurant for the first two nights, whilst my meals were nothing to write home about, my wife did enjoy hers.
Early bird deals are available and they also offer a loyalty card which offers discount on meals.
Breakfast was the usual continental buffet and a hot buffet with specially cooked dishes also avaliable, omelettes, smoked haddock etc.
Staff were always attentive.
The pool area is clean and was never busy when we were there, can't comment on the gym as we didn't use it but it looked OK.
If in the area we may use this hotel again but having stayed there 3 times now we may be tempted to try elsewhere.
The new rooms are much better than the older rooms but the noise from the function room is really loud.
There is ample free parking but not much to see or do in the immediate vacinity.

Room Tip: Avoid 133 like the plague The newer rooms are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Avoid rooms in the attic space they are boiling with no air con. Hotel is set in lovely grounds and is close to Broughty Ferry which is a lovely little main street with plenty of selection of places to eat. Hotel bar staff and reception staff were dour and could not crack a smile and they were also slow to serve , thinking it was better practice to clean tables in an empty bar rather than serve the customer. Not even I'll be with you in a minute. Rooms are very basic and ours did not have a bath (only a shower). All in all an average place and typical for old style building type hotel which is not going to have mod cons like air con.

Room Tip: do not get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GORDON340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is a great hotel, stayed here more times than I can remember for work and have used with wife, it's largely a wedding venue, so it's better in the week (business). It's clean comfortable and has a nice feel about it. The hotel supports the guide dog association and is often occupied with dogs and trainers, but no tel tail doggie hotel signs. The food and staff are really nice, but if you stay here you MUST try a curry at the nearby Broughty Ferry Hotel. I would alway stay at the Woodlands when in Dundee.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We needed a room at short notice in a part of the country we don’t normally visit, so we had no prior knowledge of the hotel, apart from the fact that it was Best Western and had 3 stars.
The first thing that strikes you as you enter the very nice tree-filled car-park is the number of spaces. Over 100 for only 38 rooms? The answer is that the hotel clearly relies on functions and its leisure centre for a lot of revenue.
Check-in was efficient and friendly, and the room looked very good indeed: ample space for two people, decor and furniture in excellent condition, very good lighting, adequate hairdryer. No trouserpress, air con, safe or minibar, but then it is only 3 stars. More surprising was the complete lack of toiletries in the bathroom, just a shower cap and wall-fixed soap dispensers. Also absent was a “Do not disturb” sign.
The room was very hot, but we opened the windows and used the electric fan to get the temperature down before we went to bed. However, the room got hotter in the night until it was really quite uncomfortable. Obviously it was getting warmed up by the surrounding rooms. It didn’t help that the electric towel rail in the bathroom was on full, and there was no way to turn it off.
The door closers on the bedrooms are not well adjusted, in that they shut with a bang if they are not closed carefully. It only takes one thoughtless guest to wake the whole corridor (and he did!). Hotels are required to ensure that the doors close, but it is quite possible to get mechanisms that do this reasonably quietly. The Woodlands is not the only hotel to pay insufficient attention to this.
We did not have dinner or use the leisure centre, but we had a drink in the lounge bar. The atmosphere was more of a downmarket pub than a 3-star hotel. There was a gambling machine clattering away, a TV with Sky Sports blaring even though no-one was watching and the tables were unclean and sticky. The seating wasn’t very good, and cigarette smoke was blowing in through the French windows. In sharp contrast were the bar staff, who were friendly, polite and helpful.
The breakfast experience was adequate rather than good. There were only 6 guests or thereabouts. There was a “Please wait to be seated” sign at the door. Fair enough, but the L-shaped room meant that the staff could rarely see the door. After a couple of minutes, we simply walked round the corner, to be warmly greeted as if the waitress had been expecting us. We didn’t comment.
Breakfast was the typical buffet of cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon etc, though you could also order fried eggs. omelettes, porridge and other things. Only marmalade on offer, no jams or honey. The marmalade was not very good quality.
If you had to overnight there for a conference or a wedding, you’d be fine, but I would not recommend it either for business or as a holiday base. However, you can’t argue about the price: at less than £80 for two people B & B in high season, it is very inexpensive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sp33dbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I had gone for a business visit to Dundeel & stayed in this hotel. Location is very good but the service is really bad. Breakfast was not so good & Internet facilty was not working. Hotel rooms were good but the real factor was service which was missing.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
Thank yogesh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
4.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
4.9 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Address: 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Woodlands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#13 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: £56 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing