We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay - Staff only too pleased to help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Stay - Staff only too pleased to help”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband and I got married here on Saturday 11th August. Many of our family members and friends stayed at the hotel from 1-5 nights and every single one that I've spoken to were as impressed as we were.

Wedding (which was absolutely perfect) aside, our actual stay in the hotel couldn't have been better. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We had our two children with us who loved the hotel and were made to feel welcome. The rooms were clean and peaceful and the food was lovely. The leisure centre was ideal and we made use of the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi several times during our stay.

The hotel is in an ideal location: 5 mins walk from the main road and transport links.

All in all, a fantastic hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    171
    68
    25
    8
See reviews for
111
163
12
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

a wonderful stay for us as usual. fantastic rooms very kindly across from each other as we had the kids with us. Lovely dinner in the restaurant with great service and super food. The menu is very extensive and never compramises on quality. The staff and management all contribute to making this hotel a very good destination for quality and comfort.

Thanks once again

Room Tip: all seem very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAGLASGOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Very poor for price, cant understand why room would have no iron!! staff are snooty at reception and unaproachable & the others are teenage phone texting uniterested. Its tacky looking oldy wordy decor. Food was average & car park needs serious attention /re-surfaced. Room was boiling hot (101) heard other complaints through wide open windows. Its set in midge full trees, but have to open window. No shampoos just a squirty thing on the wall 8-O. I normally happy where i stay but this is a dump :-(

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordiefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel over a weekend whilst celebrating a friends daughters wedding. The hotel is set in its own tranquil grounds. Our room was very spaceous overlooking the car park but this was not a problem since the windows were double glazed and everything went quiet after midnight. The room we were in faced the sun throughout the day so got very hot but leaving the windows open all day reduced this problem. Our room was on the first floor in a corner near a fire exit so was set back in a small alcove of its own. The leisure facilities were very pleasant with pool, gym sauna and steam room. The hotel was very busy with weddings and receptions but this did not cause a problem for us. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briankirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

excellent stay once again..this is the 3rd time ive stayed and again no complaitnts....staff all excellent and food a dream...the staff on arrival are polite helpfull.among the bar staff for our evening meal were professional and pleasant...we stayed up late which for drinks wasnt a issue as they left my tab open till we went to bed...breakfast was as a deklight s dinner..fresh cooked and plenty choice.....

Room Tip: all rooms clean and comfie....usual best western touches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbgolfing2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

my wife and i stayed 8 9 july for family wedding great day ,good food ,staff very good patient with small children.would recomend good value .PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inneslamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We opted for the Woodlands as it seems to be one of the better hotels in the Dundee area, initially we were not disappointed and the hotel seemed to be up to the usual Best Western standard, helpful and courteous staff and everything scrupulously clean and tidy!! The bar and the meal in the restaurant were excellent and could not be faulted, wide choice to cater for most tastes and reasonable. Breakfast was not as good as this was all done on a self service basis and did not live up to the standards of the previous evening unfortunately. The single biggest problem, and we should have been warned when we saw 'fans in every room' was the stifeling heat during the night leading to a very restless sleep. Got up Knackered! Please note that all the heating was turned off at this point and it was still terrible, they really need to consider aircon, we were told that 'our' room was one of the coolest!!

Room Tip: Make sure it is cool as hot rooms are unbearable unless you live in a sauna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustedandrotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
4.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
8.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.0 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#15 of 28 in Dundee
345 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Property: Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Address: 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Woodlands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#13 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing