We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little piece of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Selby
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Little piece of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a two night stay at this hotel from 27th - 29th December. What a surprise! Tucked away in the middle of a street you'd be surprised to think a hotel of this calibre would be found.
Ample car parking meant there was no problem getting parked but more about that later.. The reception was warm and friendly are were the staff.
The double room was very clean and tidy and dare I say larger than other hotel rooms that I have stayed in.
Drinks at the bar were a tad expensive, but your at a hotel so live with it or find a pub!!
As this was a wedding we were at it's hard to know what would have been on the menu. However the food we had was very good.
As I mentioned earlier we will go back to the car park. Now on arrival there were plenty of spaces. Then we went out only to return 2 hours later and well getting a space was ridiculous. Yes it was busy and there would have been plenty spaces, and this is not the hotels fault, however the people just abandoned their cars anywhere. One car decided he didn't want to share a double bay and packed in the middle!!!
However it's a minor gripe.
Overall, loved my stay and certainly would go their in the future.

One last thing that I better mention. Please, please, please get better pillows!!! If you want to know what a really exceptional pillow is, visit Hotel Grodek in Krakow, Poland. They have pillows to die for!!!!.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    166
    64
    25
    7
See reviews for
105
154
11
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at the Woodlands Hotel overnight when attending a family birthday at another Hotel. When we arrived the receptionist was very helpfull and we were checked in quickly and then proceeded to our room. The room was spacious and well maintained. It looked like it had been recently decorated. The bathroom was a bit dated but was very clean and there were no complaints. However, we deceided to have a glass of wine before going out to the family meal and wanted to have this in the privacy of our room. When I asked the receptionist for wine glasses she wasn;t too happy and told me to go to the bar. The bar man was quite happy to hand them over. When we were leaving we were accidently overcharged by £29. The receptionist had input our room number into the visa machine instead of the price of the room. It was all rectified swiftly. At breakfast there seemed to be a lot of staff but one waiter in particular shoved past me when I was at the breakfast buffet as he obviously needed past but did not have the courtesy to ask. Apart from that I would go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neecie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A favourite of mine for business stays. Good health club, reasonably modern in most rooms I have had with lots of dark wood in the bar and lounges, and very good bacon! Tucked out of sight surrounded by trees with pleasant staff. Location is good depending on your needs. It is out of the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely staff, clean well presented rooms in which everything works. You couldn't ask for more for the price. The fitness suite is better than most at this level of hotel. Breakfast very helpful in getting bacon and sausages crisped up for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Kormeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed for 2 nights b and b. On the whole reasonable value for money. We had cleanliness issues with our room, as if it had been cleaned in a hurry, however we spoke to reception and this was resolved. Areas of hotel dated but generally clean. Pool area ok, but changing area and showers needing revamp. Good breakfast, omelette especially good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AndrewH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
4.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#12 of 30 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Property: Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Address: Woodlands Hotel 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#13 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing