We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel at a good price”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good quality room, spacious and bright. Staff very helpful, friendly and polite. Leisure facilities looked good but we forgot our swimsuits...a towel for the leisure centre was included in the room which was a thoughtful touch. The hotel is also conveniently located for visiting family in Broughty Ferry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank csjalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Your feedback is very important to us as we strive to improve our hotel. It is so nice to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    171
    68
    25
    9
See reviews for
112
164
12
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a pleasant couple of days with friends. The staff are all very friendly and could not have been more helpful There was a small glitch with our booking which I had used" booking.com "to arrange, however the lady at reception supplied us with complementary coffee.while she quickly sorted it out .Whilst there was no fault with the food I felt that the menu did not come up to the standard in other reviews.A bit of advice book breakfast in advance £7 If you purchase it after arriving £10 ( breakfast was excellent in choice and cooking but since we don't always eat a full breakfast we failed to book in advance.)

Room Tip: Don't go for 122 -- noisy if there is a function on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board and use them as a tool to improve our quality of product and service. I would always advise that when booking you contact ourselves directly as we can manage your booking personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I would recommend the Woodlands Hotel it is in a lovely setting in Broughty Ferry which is a very affluent suburb of Dundee. The hotel is well situated for great bars and restaurants and for long walks along the coast. The first thing about this place is it is spotless. I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel which is all the more remarkable as the hotel was completely full and had a wedding on both nights. The staff on reception were excellent with a good sense of humour. The decor in the room was a bit dated but that aside it was a great stay and I would certainly make a point of going back.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms with dark blue decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We aim to make every stay the best we can and every guest feel welcome. We appreciate all feedback and will be looking into updating some of our bedrooms shortly. I do hope we can welcome you back at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

When booking this hotel make sure you ask for a room in the new part of the building. We were given rooms in the original part of the hotel, there is no lift and our rooms were upstairs. I have lung cancer so found the stairs problematic however my sister and brother in law(both in their 70s) had been given a room in what must have been the attic. They had 2 further flights of stairs to conquer only to find a tiny room with sloping ceilings so small there was no room for a comfortable chair. Make sure you don't get rooms 133, 134, and 135. We all eventually were moved to ground floor rooms which were much superior. In its defence I must say the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was well cooked and presented. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and on Best Western site and I believe we have discussed the points you have raised. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed here in the executive king suite, OMG amazing , they have just change it to a bedroom from a meeting room... you can swing a elephant in there .the bathroom u could probably bath the elephant too, massive roll bath & walk in shower, well done the woodlands..

breakfast was buffet , great just what you expect.... .

ohh swimming pool good, not really got a shallow bit for toddlers? but well just hold on to them, LOL

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggie-pie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, although I do hope no one will try to swing an elephant in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have just stayed for 3 nights at the Woodlands and myself and my husband found the hotel to very good. The receptionist on arrival was very helpful and nothing was too much problem. Room was large and very clean, but very creaky bed and some of the floor boards need to be nailed down. Overall though, very good. Breakfast was excellent with a really good selection. Evening meal was ok, could be better. Will defiantly stay again and would recommend it to anyone, great value. Didn't use pool or gym, so can't comment on this, but what we saw looked nice and would use when we return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback, we strive to give the best experience we can and by obtaining feedback we can pick up on any problems or highlights. Maintenance have looked at the floorboards in the room you occupied and have fixed these. I do hope we can welcome you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
4.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
8.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.0 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#15 of 28 in Dundee
348 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Property: Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Address: 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Woodlands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#13 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing