We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOLF TRIP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Spent 2 nights with 8 colleagues playing golf in the Dundee area - hotel was very good excellent breakfast and service . rooms were clean and tidy with ample parking at the rear for our mini-bus
good value with no complaints

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRINCEAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Tired and dated - room was ok but on ground floor/basement and little natural light. Bathroom was tiny with cracked and loose tiles plus a delightful silverfish. Not helped by a lack of air conditioning and a window that didn't open. Proximity of room to wedding suite which was in use meant noise all night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Htravellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Helpful and courteous staff.Excellent breakfast which was not too fatty.Our bedroom on the third floor had super view onto the River Tay and the famous Tay Railway bridge.Free parking for guests at the back of the hotel .Close to University and Dundee Repertory Theatre.Town a quick five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A nice, clean hotel with excellent food for breakfast, and comfy beds. Ideal for our family celebration, with quite a few of our relatives staying overnight. Staff were polite and helpful. Rooms were reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions as it is convenient to the University and the west end of town.
BE WARNED! Do not under any circumstances accept a room in the basement, i.e. rooms in the 100's (101, 102 etc). These rooms are beside the function rooms, car park and rear doors of the kitchens.
When I checked in and was given one of these rooms I knew this to be the case but was told by the receptionist there was no function on that weekend (except for a quiet quiz night on the Friday - that seemed ok).
GUESS WHAT! A wedding on the Saturday night resulted in shouting, screaming, foul language and drunken brawling right outside our window during and after the loud music stopped at 1am.

Room Tip: get a room as far away from the basement and rear as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in the hotel for a very reasonable dinner, B&B rate on a Saturday night when picking up my son from University. The hotel has a lot of character and was once quite an imposing building. Whilst it retains much of its charm, the grandure is somewhat faded and the hotel could do with a "make-over." The staff were very helpful and the dining experience very good with prompt service and a good standard of cuisine. It's very handy for the University and all amenities in the centre of the city. The hotel was good value for money and given how handy it is for the university I would use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijallen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the Queens for 3 nights to celebrate a friend's birthday. Our room was large and clean with one huge bed and a single. The beds were comfortable and the room had 5 drawers to store your clothes. The wardrobe was unfortunately one of the 'front to back' variety, presumably to make room for the iron and ironing board stored at the side - useful for some. There was an excellent hospitality tray with Tetley Tea, Nescafe coffee and decaffeinated coffee and lovely shortbread fingers, restocked daily.
The hotel has free Wi-Fi, it worked better on the second floor than the third, but it was a useful addition to services.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast was excellent. The continental selection was the best I have seen in a British Hotel - slices of fresh fruit, cheeses and meats, pastries, croissants, cereals, tinned fruits, fruit juices etc. The owner, Mr Sneddon was on duty at breakfast nearly every day and was charming - nothing was too much trouble. There is a large cooked breakfast menu too including porridge of course and Arbroath Smokies.
We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel, but some of our friends did and they recommended the food both for taste and price.
The drinks in the function room were very reasonably priced and there were plenty of bar staff to serve you. My only observation would be that they didn't bother to come out and collect glasses when they were not busy, but this could be a hotel policy, or maybe that as they were quite young, they didn't think that was part of their duties.
The buffet for the function was very nice with bot hot and cold food provided - everyone on my table enjoyed it and some went back for seconds!
The hotel is in a good location for the shops and Discovery Centre near the station - well worth a visit.
The reception staff were friendly and the dining room staff too.
I would stay in the Queens again without hesitation and heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view over the Tay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker7Chadderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Address: Queens Hotel Buildings 160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range: £64 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
Best Western Queens Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing