We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The queens hotel is a good hotel a bit tired and need of up dating but at the same time our room was very clean the only thing wrong we were given a room and the front with no view and had street noise also there was a couple of weddings on the Sat night and as we were on the second floor we heard a lot of the noise from it car parking was good also the breakfast was good nothing special but the staff were great and I would stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a room at back away from street and maybe get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights recently and couldn't find fault with the place. It is an old hotel so there are areas that have faded a little. I stayed on the fourth floor; the room was small but comfortable and clean, the bathroom likewise. I thought the staff were friendly and the food was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allonjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is an historic hotel, ideally suited for exploring the city, next to the University and City centre. It has a grand staircase, and convenient car park, but the over all look of the hotel is tired. Although the room was clean and roomy, everything was a very drab brown. However, there were no toiletries, the soap/shower gel were in squeezy bottles attached to the wall. Although 'green' this sends the wrong message to a tired traveller wanting to relax in the bath, that this hotel is functional rather than luxurious. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit and poached eggs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting relatives, the overall presentation of the hotel is drab and in need of a major facelift. The reception is dull, although staff are very friendly. The rooms are xtremely small for the price being charged and in very poor condition, they're dated and in dire need of some tlc. Rooms cleaned every day to good standard. Breakfast was poor, the sausages and bacon were too well done and at times inedible, would get the impression they have trouble being able to deal with high resident volume. The upside is its location and the staff are a credit to the hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank holidaypal36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This dour Scottish Baronial hotel dominates its end of Dundee's main street, Nethergate, and can be seen from the station ten minutes walk away but separated from it by building works and roads. I entered from the rear of the building, uninspiring, though the main entrance on the road is better. The general ambiance is poor, it's dated, faded and in need of a lot of money spending on it. The corridors are painted and papered in dull oatmeal and smell faintly musty. My room, 311, smelt badly of chemical air freshener when I entered, one of my least favourite smells. I don't know what it was supposed to be covering up! The room is the usual square box with a bit partitioned off to make the ensuite, resulting in a bit of a squeeze either side of the double bed. Again, faded decorations and my pet hate, polycotton sheets and pillow cases. The double divan bed had a painfully thin mattress through which the base could be felt. Not terrible comfortable and I didn't sleep very well.
Breakfast, however, was good, and because there was a long queue of young Americans, the manager(?) got my breakfast for me, which was thoughtful.
I am surprised that this hotel is accredited by Best Western. In my view it devalues the brand.

Room Tip: I was at the front, over the road, but it was quiet at night. Rooms at the rear have a view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

General cleanliness of the room was poor, requested breakfast which never came in the morning.phoned down to reception and pretty much told tough luck. Paid for food which we never got. Written a letter of complaint. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times before - this time I am so disappointed. The meal on Friday night was lovel (21st June) - the restaurant was busy as there were graduations in the town - the service was excellent. Breakfast next morning, however, was a different matter - the black plates showed evidence of being very work (better with white planes - not so noticeable) , I think you may seriously need a new or repaired dishwasher - all the dishes had 'bits' in them - knifes were not clean - cups were struggling to be clean also. The breakfast was abysmal - the bacon was fatty - breakfast buffet was served by a waitress? - why not let people select their own food at breakfast like other hotels? The beans were cheap beans! Did not see any mushrooms! The tables were covered in plastic tablecloths both for dinner in the evening and for breakfasts - they were not cleaned at all - when asked the waiters cleaned with one sweep of a wet cloth - why not have the person serving the good moving the items from the table and cleaning them between sittings? The beds are very worn - clean but not comfortable! The bar and toilets was closed all day Sunday due to lack of staff?? When we went to our room on Saturday night there was an extremely strong smell like kerosene at the top of the lift - we thought it was perhaps from the lift itself but were told next day someone had spilt Brasso?? Very disappointed and don't think we will return - staff are all great and extremely helpful - the hotel is perfectly situated for the centre of town - apparently are very busy all week - what has gone wrong?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Address: Queens Hotel Buildings 160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range: £53 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
Best Western Queens Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing