We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old and cold” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaftesbury Lodge
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“old and cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

read the reviews driving towards Dundee on business with my partner, was looking forward to checking into this old victorian building.... But... i was so disappointed, if it wasn't so late,cold and very dark outside i would have asked my partner to turn away and find another hotel/B&B.
The lady who checked us in was very pleasant and took us up to our room, my first impression was it reminded me of an old aged nursing home, very large room but so basic, and so cold,the bathroom as cramped and also very cold, and not very inviting to have a shower.
Was recommended where to eat, thats another story!!!.
Breakfast was ok, but really nothing exceptional and certainly not very Scottish!!
Sorry but we will not be returning, very good reviews from various people, but really not sure if this is the same place as we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we were of course sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations based on the other reviews you had read. We believe that everyone has a valid opinion, however we were disappointed that you did not feel you could discuss your issues with us in person at the time of your stay as we may have been able to rectify them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    35
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
59
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We only got to stay one night at the Shaftesbury Lodge, but we got a great nights' sleep and felt that it was a great value. Upon arrival Heather provided us with walking directions to a number of restaurants (including a wonderful Indian place) and offered to help us with our luggage & the stairs. Be sure to remember that there is no lift at this hotel, so you'll need to be able to navigate stairs. However, we found the climb to be worth the effort. Also, there's only curb-side parking, but there was plenty of it the night we were there. Overall, this little hotel is worth a visit if you are staying in Dundee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_And_E_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Informative and helpful for future guests - many thanks for posting your review Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel has a traditional feel but is very comfortable with spacious rooms and good facilities. Rooms are bright and very well decorated with free wifi, tv, hot drink making facilities. The proprietor is very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is situated in a quiet road but only twenty minutes walk from the city centre and ten minutes from the restaurants on Perth Road. Breakfasts are substanital and individually cooked. It was an ideal place to stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyWebUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for a great review - hope to see you again if you are visiting the Dundee Rep Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a discovery! Individually decorated, very spacious rooms with excellent facilities. Our only regret was that, after a copious evening meal at the local Italian, we were unable to do justice to the fantastic choice of breakfast dishes. Being a little way from the centre of Dundee, parking is easy and free. All in all, it's a winning combination.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Great honest review and informative for other guests - many thanks for taking the time to post it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reepham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 night while visiting daughter at her Uni down the road. Really clean, large room, very friendly owners and really really great breakfasts. I would highly recommend staying here whilst in Dundee. We will stay here every time we visit Dundee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Many thanks for your superb review and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Not old fashioned at all. Fresh decoration and high ceilings make for spacious bedrooms and comfortable lounge. The dining room has Rene Mackintosh style chairs. Delicious breakfast. Free wifi. It is a 30 minute walk to town but there are plenty of buses or £5 taxi. Friendly welcome. We couldn't get into Premier Inn and are pleased as we wouldn't have found it otherwise. Parking as long as you like in quiet street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Excellent review and most informative - many thanks and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We are two Canadian couples who stayed at the Shaftesbury in late August. The rooms were a nice size and clean. The breakfasts menu was varied and the food was great. The Shaftesbury has lots of character. We walked to Drouthys for supper the first night (a bar with good food) and liked it enough to go back again. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ss987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete your review - I know you stayed in a lot of different places on your trip to Scotland and delighted you thought us worthy of 10/10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Property: Shaftesbury Lodge
Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
#9 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing