We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shaftesbury Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed in Shaftesbury Lodge for one night whilst visiting Dundee on business. I like a hotel that is quiet, comfortable and clean. Shaftesbury Lodge is situated in a quiet suburb within easy distance of the University and the city centre, good restaurants are near by, and there is good roadside parking (no pay & display required). The bed I slept in was one of the most comfortable hotels beds I have experienced (as were the pillows) and the room was well equipped, spotless and tastefully finished. Free wifi. An excellent breakfast. I, along with my business companions were incredibly well looked after. Would I go back? It will be my first choice the next timeI visit Dundee. Thank you so much for looking after me so well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromA2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Many thanks for posting an excellent and informative review for other guests looking to stay with us. Delighted that both you and your colleagues enjoyed the hospitality and next time, I look forward to meeting your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We been un this little house for only few days, the place it is very clean and good the service is good and the lady is very attentive and courteous at all. Tank you if we come again in Dundee dure we beck in this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

That was kind of you to take the time to post your review and for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again should you be in Dundee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable weekend in Dundee and stayed at the Shaftesbury Lodge once againfor 3 nights. This is our third stay in 2 years at the Shaftesbury and it is such a pleasure to be looked after so well by the owners Heather and Martin. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The choice and high standard of breakfast really sets you up for the day. The Lodge is very well situated and the walk into town especially along the waterfront is brilliant.

Gordon & Sue, Yorkshire

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanjoyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Gordon and Sue, lovely to see you both again and delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay again with us. It's great to know we are still on the right track! Hope to see you next year, all the best Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

read the reviews driving towards Dundee on business with my partner, was looking forward to checking into this old victorian building.... But... i was so disappointed, if it wasn't so late,cold and very dark outside i would have asked my partner to turn away and find another hotel/B&B.
The lady who checked us in was very pleasant and took us up to our room, my first impression was it reminded me of an old aged nursing home, very large room but so basic, and so cold,the bathroom as cramped and also very cold, and not very inviting to have a shower.
Was recommended where to eat, thats another story!!!.
Breakfast was ok, but really nothing exceptional and certainly not very Scottish!!
Sorry but we will not be returning, very good reviews from various people, but really not sure if this is the same place as we stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we were of course sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations based on the other reviews you had read. We believe that everyone has a valid opinion, however we were disappointed that you did not feel you could discuss your issues with us in person at the time of your stay as we may have been able to rectify them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We only got to stay one night at the Shaftesbury Lodge, but we got a great nights' sleep and felt that it was a great value. Upon arrival Heather provided us with walking directions to a number of restaurants (including a wonderful Indian place) and offered to help us with our luggage & the stairs. Be sure to remember that there is no lift at this hotel, so you'll need to be able to navigate stairs. However, we found the climb to be worth the effort. Also, there's only curb-side parking, but there was plenty of it the night we were there. Overall, this little hotel is worth a visit if you are staying in Dundee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_And_E_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Informative and helpful for future guests - many thanks for posting your review Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel has a traditional feel but is very comfortable with spacious rooms and good facilities. Rooms are bright and very well decorated with free wifi, tv, hot drink making facilities. The proprietor is very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is situated in a quiet road but only twenty minutes walk from the city centre and ten minutes from the restaurants on Perth Road. Breakfasts are substanital and individually cooked. It was an ideal place to stay for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyWebUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks for a great review - hope to see you again if you are visiting the Dundee Rep Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a discovery! Individually decorated, very spacious rooms with excellent facilities. Our only regret was that, after a copious evening meal at the local Italian, we were unable to do justice to the fantastic choice of breakfast dishes. Being a little way from the centre of Dundee, parking is easy and free. All in all, it's a winning combination.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Great honest review and informative for other guests - many thanks for taking the time to post it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
1.0 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing