We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - rooms, bar & staff, all excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great hotel - rooms, bar & staff, all excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights for a wedding in the area.

Booked several rooms for family members - all different rooms types, for different dates and number of nights, number of people (family rooms) and several changes along the way. All brilliantly handled by the Claire (Reservations and Events Executive) at the hotel - thank you Claire - and the hotel staff during our stay.

Rooms were all of an excellent standard - clean and comfortable with all the required amenities. My King Deluxe was particularly good and worth the additional cost for the extra room and separate bath/shower. A good shower is one of the most important things for me and this was great - oversized shower cubicle and really good water pressure.

Service in the bar was excellent - consistently efficient, professional and friendly.

We ate in the restaurant one evening and were very pleased that we chose to stay at the hotel rather than head out as the food and service was great (although I'm sure there are some very nice places in Dundee and the surrounding area).

Various family members enjoyed the pool - particularly the kids.

Great free mini-bus service provided by the hotel to take us to a family dinner the night before the wedding.

The only gripe would be breakfast - staff in the morning were great, but the food wasn't anything special. Usual buffet setup, but I have experienced much better in other hotels of a similar standard. This didn't detract from our overall extremely positive experience though.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra particularly if staying for more than one or two nights (larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retep68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear retep68,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to see that you had a positive experience here at the hotel recently and that the service in the bar was consistently efficient, professional and friendly.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team so that they know how much their efforts were appreciated and Claire in particular.

We hope to see you return to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    361
    118
    38
    20
See reviews for
183
463
30
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My partner & I spent last weekend here at the Double Tree, the room was a wee bit tired, but clean & spacious. We ate in the restaurant on our first night & the food was superb from start to finish, we had a small table in the window area so it was very private & romantic. The staff are lovely, from the girls at the reception to the bar & restaurant staff especially Stacey, so welcoming & friendly. This means so much to me when staying in a hotel, if the staff are dour & rude it can spoil the whole weekend. The lounge bar area is so nice to relax in before or after dinner. We would def visit this hotel again set in beautiful grounds, it is set well out of the city so you either have to drive or take a taxi, but this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Mark163,

It is great to see that you had a pleasant weekend stay with us recently and that you enjoyed our friendly, welcoming staff and beautiful grounds.

I hope to see you return to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We have previously stayed at this hotel, but this was our first visit since it became a Hilton. The receptionist was friendly, however we were surprised by the amount of tattoos and body piercings on display.
We had asked for a room on the first floor, which we were given. The room was clean and comfortable, although as previously we had to remove the ironing board from the wardrobe in order to hang up our clothes for our one night stay.
We had planned on eating from the bar menu, which we had viewed online, however on arrival in the bar we were only given the restaurant menu and a sandwich menu. I chose the steak pie, however when it arrived it bore no resemblance to steak pie. The stewed beef was tasty, and there was a circle of dry hard pastry on the side, which hadn't been anywhere near the beef. My husband had a Thai chicken curry, which was edible but seemed to be made of pre cooked left over chicken. We asked to share the cheese board. When it arrived we were surprised at the small helping for the price of £8. There was a piece of Brie which was about 2cm square, and 3 similar sized pieces of cheddar, served with 6 mini oatcakes and a small bunch of grapes. Imagine our surprise when we later checked the bill to discover that we had been charged £13.50 for this as it was a sharing platter!
The breakfast was good, although there was an additional charge for some items. I can only assume the aforementioned Ann was not on duty, as the service was somewhat lackadaisical. We had to request milk, glasses for fruit juice, plates for the hot buffet, and plates for toast. We were never offered a top up of our tea and coffee.
Although we got a good rate for the room, we would not dine here again as I feel we were ripped off. On our return we received a satisfaction survey to complete, which we duly did. We were told our concerns would be put to the Beverage Manager, however we have not heard anything further.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear barney2808,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us was less than satisfactory due to your dining experience. We aim to meet and indeed exceed all guests' expectations and it appears that on this occasion we failed to do just that - please accept my apologies for this.

If you wish to contact me further to discuss this matter then please do not hesitate to contact me and in the meantime I look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My daughters wedding reception was held here Sunday17th August. The bridesmaids and my daughter stayed the night before the wedding and found everything fantastic. The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough and went above and beyond what was expected! Everything at wedding was wonderful!! Would recommend! Thanks you doubletree you made a special day, exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppyjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Poppyjackie,

I am delighted to see that you had a faultless experience here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee recently for your daughter's wedding reception and that our staff went above and beyond to help make the day very special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

After staying in other hotels in Dundee and being somewhat underwhelmed I decided to give the Doubletree a go. Great choice. Prompt check in in nice reception with excellent service. First class room, spotlessly clean and no noise coming through the walls from other rooms. Bar and restaurant also operate to the same high standard with fast and friendly service. Had I known there was a pool I'd have taken swimwear too.
The only possible negative is that it isn't in the city centre but the extra quality is worth the short drive.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear pjmoorhouse,

I am delighted to see that you would rate our rooms as first class and that you found our service to be of a very high standard after your recent stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you return to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Situated outside Dundee, a £10 taxi fare away from the centre. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. Our room was on the ground floor, it was clean and tidy with all the usual things provided, tea, coffee, shampoo, shower gel etc. The bed was large and comfortable but the room decor is dated, dark brown walls, brown nets on a small window and black furniture which make the room seem smaller but the communal areas like the restaurant are more up to date and are decorated in lighter shades. We ate in the bar as the restaurant was very busy but had the restaurant menu and again the bar staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Also a great choice at breakfast. Plenty of parking spaces at the front of the hotel. It has a pool, although I didn't use it. Lovely grounds to walk around but the modern exterior could do with painting as this too is
looking tired and dated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmaid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear swissmaid21,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and that our staff were very friendly and helpful. I am also glad that you enjoyed our lovely gardens for walks and our food offering at breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Everything was great. Rooms and staff good. Enjoyed our stay for our sisters wedding. Had breakfast and dinner which was good. The breakfast choice with all you can eat was amazing. The staff were very busy but still smiled and were nice to you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Caroline D,

It is great to see that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel whilst staying for your sister's wedding. I am delighted to hear that you thought everything was great and that you enjoyed great service from our staff and the range of our breakfast offering in particular.

I hope to see you return in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Address: Kingsway West, Dundee DD2 5JT, Scotland (Formerly The Landmark Dundee)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dundee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#9 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among six acres of landscaped gardens, a short drive from Dundee city centre, the hotel boasts spacious modern bedrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas, complimentary car parking, AA Rosette dining in The Maze restaurant, Lounge Bar, 3 conference suites for up to 120 delegates and a fitness centre with swimming pool, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Dundee Hotel Dundee
The Landmark Hotel Dundee
Landmark Hotel Dundee
DoubleTree By Hilton Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing