We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hideaway Experience

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hideaway Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We had a couple nights in the Lovers Hideaway for our Mini-Moon. The lodge is fabulous. We cant wait to return, Beautiful scenery, fantastic views, peaceful, relaxing - I could go on and on. The steak and breakfast meals were lovely and I would highly recommend having a massage while you are there. I would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
We were delighted to read your kind comments below relating to your stay in the Lovers' Hideaway as part of our mini-moon. thank you also for the feedback not only relating to the Hideaway itself but also regarding the extras that you enjoyed in the way of the local butcher meat and the massage treatment. We would obviously love to welcome you back, perhaps for your first wedding anniversary!

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
301
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

ID#: 224304948

We stayed last week and regretted not bringing the car. We felt stranded. The nearest shop is 6 miles away and there are no pubs or restaurants, or indeed anything, for miles and miles.

I am not sure how long one can occupy themselves in an outdoor hut tub. For us, boredom with the location set in rather quickly. We are a couple in our forties who like socialising, eating out, shopping, cycling etc, none of which we could do here ( the mountain bikes advertised on the website do not exist!) Dundee is a run down town so even when we were willing to pay £30 return for a cab, quality dining or shopping establishments were not easy to find.

The farm itself was a bit of an eyesore with dead pigeons strewn here there and everywhere and a very vicious dog chained up there too. The suggestion that you are secluded is not truthful as we had to get out of the outdoor hot tub to avoid a farmer peering at us whilst he ploughed his field. He continued to do this one and off for two out of the three days we actually stayed there and also when he broke for lunch etc he parked the tractor directly next to our cottage. No privacy here, just social seclusion and boredom.

It did not seem as plush as the five star establishments we usually stay in. There was dog muck on the grass in the garden and one or two bulbs did not work yet had not been changed, for example.

There is nowhere to sit whilst you blow dry your hair and so I Had to stand up every day to do this. Hardly luxurious!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cacadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback relating to your stay at the Hideaways this summer. We have taken on board the elements of the feedback that we believe will enhance the stay for future guests. We very much appreciate you giving us a comprehensive review as we are aware that by doing so this is the only way we can improve the facilities and level of service we provide.

With regard to our location we do not hide where we are, with the full address and direction details provide on our website so that guests can make a judgement as to whether to book or not based on their preferences. We do find that guests like the fact that they are away from the city of Dundee but that it is also a convenient distance away for taking part in tourist activities or a meal out. The nearest large 24 hour supermarket is actually less than 6 miles away, with a smaller supermarket and shop only 3-4 miles away. However I am sorry to read that you thought the distance was too far for you. However we hope that the complimentary taxis from and to the train station helped to some extent with the cost of travelling during your stay.

Dundee itself is going through several million pounds worth of regeneration. Particularly with improvements to the train station and water front area , which will provide the location of the new V&A Museum in the near future. This sadly does mean parts of this are of the city are under construction but the outcome will be to the long term benefit and overall look of the city.

We were upset to read that you were disturbed by the farm work being carried out in the field next to your Hideaway. It is difficult for us to rectify this situation after your stay. If you had made us aware of your thoughts at the time the farmer would have stopped working so not to disturb you or if you had mentioned this prior to departure. This is particularly disappointing as we did have contact with you during your stay on multiple occasions (when delivering kindling, logs, arranging your taxi departure and also when the owner spoke to you on your departure morning). Also with regard to the tractor being parked so close to the Hideaway, this was not something he would normally do, as sadly the tractor had broken down so he was unable to move it for a period of time. Unfortunately farm work does have to be carried out during parts of the spring and the summer into autumn in order for the farm to operate and also to provide the lovely countryside views that our guests expect. Sadly this work may inconvenience some guests during parts of their stay. However we do try to keep the disruption to a minimum and I am sorry that we were not able to forewarn you of the work on this occasion.

Thank you once again for taking the time to reply to us and please be assured we have taken your comments on board.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had three nights away in the honeymooners Hideaway. This was our mini-moon just after we got married in August. We absolutely loved it. The accommodation is fantastic and we enjoyed time to relax and get away from it all.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
We were very pleased to receive your kind comments below regarding your stay in August in the Honeymooners' Hideaway as part of your mini-moon. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable and relaxing time during your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back at some point in the very near future. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

If your are needing a relaxing break, some personal time with a loved one or you just want to treat yourself, this is the break for you. The accommodation is first rate and to have the luxury of your own hot tub and sauna, it doesn't get any better than this, well it does, homemade fresh bread delivered to your door by your hosts. Find an available date and book yourself....

Room Tip: Select any, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skmcken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review of your stay at the Hideaways in August. We were very happy to read the kind comments and that you have provided regarding the privacy of having your own hot tub and sauna. As you state below the Hideaways are great for celebrating a special occasion but equally just as a spontaneous treat! Thank you once again.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a night away in the Old Romantics cottage to celebrate her birthday it was everything we had hoped for and more!!

Perfect location which is easy to find and well sign posted. We loved our stay at the hideaway and loved drinking champagne in the hot tub with the music playing will definitely be back very very soon. I cannot recommend this place enough ,worth every penny for that special occasion. Thanks to all at the hideaway and it is exactly as it is described on the website the perfect place to get away from it all and relax

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cluaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
We were very pleased to read the great comments regarding your stay in the Romantics' Hideaway earlier this year for your wife's birthday celebration. We were delighted to read that you found the Hideaways easy to find as this is very important. The hot tub is a firm favourite with our guests and the speaker system near the hot tub is a feature unique to this Hideaway. We are glad that you found the break a relaxing one and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the very near future. Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I spend 3 nights here from 28th July - 1st August as a mini-moon having recently been married and in dire need of a few days peace and quiet. We found the perfect place.....The Hideaway Experience. 3 Luxurious Hideaway's located on Balkello Farm just North of Dundee, perfect as we live just North of Aberdeen and so was only a 1 hour 15 min commute.
We stayed in the Lovers' Hideaway which was beautiful, from the moment we arrived there was a warm fresh baked loaf of break and a bootle of bubbly awaiting us in welcome. We began unloading the car and before too long Caroline (The owner along with her husband Ross) came to greet us personally and to show us the features etc. It was nice to meet her in person and along with a friendly chat and the look around we felt welcome and began to unpack and relax. The Lovers Hideaway is a beautiful cottage with spa bathroom, sauna, hot tub on the decking, bbq area, hammock of which all can be enjoyed with your favourite music playing from an ipod docking station with speakers in every area.
If you are contemplating a relaxing, romantic break then look no further.....this place is ideal. We'll hopefully be back one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granitiecityfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review of your honeymoon break at the Lovers' Hideaway in the summer. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed all the features of the Hideaway and that you found the peace and quiet that you needed after your wedding. We are also delighted to read that you found the welcome helpful and that you enjoyed all the features and facilities within the Hideaway. However the most important thing is that you found the Hideaway a romantic and relaxing place to spend time as a newly married couple! We hope that you will stay again in the future, perhaps for a wedding anniversary!

Kind regards
Claire Moncrieff
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here after our wedding for three nights and it was the most perfect way to unwind after the wedding! We only ventured out one afternoon to walk up the hills behind, the rest of the time was relaxing in the hot tub and hammock! The seclusion of the cottage was great and it is everything you could wish for and more! The only thing we didn't bank on was the weather being so hot, we didn't bring sun cream and left a bit pinker than we arrived lol! We will definitely be back but in the winter so we can enjoy the cosyness of using the fire! Couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amawandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
12.1 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
4.2 mi away
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Experience

Property: The Hideaway Experience
Address: Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hideaway Experience 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideaway Experience is Scotland's couples only 5 star exclusive accommodation. No children, no groups, no stag parties just three 5 star luxury Hideaways located entirely on their own, set well apart from each other in beautiful rolling countryside at the foot of the Sidlaw Hills. Designed for complete privacy, rest, relaxation and fun the luxury Hideaways have a layout and facilities of a luxury hotel suite, but set alone from each other in the Scottish countryside. Guests can enjoy a dedicated spa room, outside hot tub, modern kitchen with a range of gadgets and SMEG appliances, double sided fire, four poster bed, cocktail bar. Located on a farm, guests can enjoy romantic walks, use the mountain bikes provided or take a short journey into the City of Dundee for great restaurants, shops and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Experience Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing