We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashton Guest House

Ashton Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashton Guest House
Ranked #11 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

My Visit at Ashton guest House was for my work. The breakfast was lovely and all staff very chatty.

My room was far too big for 1 person which was lovely, lots of space. Wifi also very good.

Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Angela-Garrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
13
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glenfinnan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Terrible welcome (I use the term loosely), horrible smell of damp, fried food and goodness knows what else when you enter the building, two tone green and dark red awful decor. Rooms functional but facilities are scarce - no soap or toiletries, hair dryer. TV in the room but positioned at such a strange angle it is difficult to see.
Breakfast is not very apetising both in terms of the food or the decor in the basement dining room. Lorne sausage completely uncooked and after being sent back to the kitchen (to the surprise of the proprietor) it came back looking much the same putrid pink colour. Service is atrocious and clearly they have never stayed in a decent guest house. This is a bit like Fawlty Towers without the fun.
On the plus side it is near to Dundee town centre, the bed itself was clean, the rooms are warm and the shower is good if you don't mind the mould and ancient, grubby bathroom carpet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IngyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ashton Guest House, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank You for your comments.

Firstly, we would like to apologise if you felt your welcome was not as it should have been.

Our latest advertised check-in time is 10.00pm. We had agreed with the pleasant gentlemen who booked on behalf of your group that check-in would remain open until 11.00pm so you could all check-in. However it was closer to midnight by the time your group did arrive to check-in. Our Manager was endeavouring to check the four of you in whilst trying not to disturb our other guests, and you may not have received our usual one-to-one service.

We do apologise if our décor is not to your taste. However, it is light and airy, which is important in the Guest House Hallways and stairways. Guest rooms are all decorated in a neutral colour. Whichever colours we choose we are never going to be able to please everyone as everyone has personal tastes.

We do apologise if you are offended by the smell of food. However, at the Ashton Guest House we allow all our guests who wish to, to bring their own food back in the evenings and eat it in the Guest House. We provide plates, cutlery, a microwave, fridge and seating area for this purpose. This is something that is appreciated by many of our guests who do not feel they wish to eat out every evening. On the night you arrived, two guests had just returned used plates to the dining area, so there may have been a temporary aroma of food in the hallway.

All our rooms have a guest information folder, prepared by ourselves, which guests are encouraged to read as it includes information about the Guest House, the facilities we offer and visitor information for places to visit and transport links in Dundee and the surrounding areas. In this folder we list the facilities we provide which include:- Hairdryer, Handsoap, Hair & Body Wash, Irons & Ironing boards, Cots, High chairs etc.
Whilst Irons & Ironing boards are available upon request from reception, all rooms are equipped with Hairdryers, Handsoap and Hair and Body wash . Hairdryers are located in the top drawer of the chest of drawers and toiletries are provided in all shower rooms. If any of these items were missing from your room this could have easily been addressed if you had reported this to reception or any member of staff. If a hairdryer could not be located within the room you would have been offered another as we do have spares, a short walk away, at reception.

Although you were booked in to a single room, you were upgraded to an ensuite Twin room. As this room is for two people there are two chairs within the room. The Television in the room is positioned for viewing from the two chairs provided and we do not understand how you found the television difficult to see when it is directly in front of the chairs, the ideal viewing angle.

We do apologise if you felt you did not enjoy your breakfast. However, to state ‘Lorne sausage completely uncooked’ implies it was served to you raw. As a provider of Food we have to adhere to all the relevant Food & Hygiene regulations. These regulations include the temperature to which food should be cooked and served and how food should be tested to ensure this standard is met. Our chef has been in the catering industry for over 30 years so, to say the least, he was surprised when the lorne sausage was returned. Another lorne sausage was cooked, checked visually and probed to ensure correct serving temperature. We vigorously disagree with your comments regarding the Lorne sausage.

Of our seven ensuite rooms, we only have two ensuites within the guest house which still have carpets. Although carpets are not ideal, ours are clean and hygienic, and we are endeavouring to change all ensuite flooring to a more user friendly type of surface. In the meantime, we ensure all ensuites are kept clean, with regular deep cleaning of carpets, showers, toilets etc. The room you occupied had both the room carpet and ensuite carpet deep cleaned after the previous guest left, so we also disagree with your comments regarding the cleanliness of the ensuite carpet and your comments regarding mold. All rooms, including ensuites are thoroughly cleaned and inspected on a daily basis.

We want all our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us. If you were unhappy with your room, you did not let staff know, so there was no opportunity for us to rectify your problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The location is a short walk's distance from the city centre and is good.

The building has obviously seen better days but there is nothing horrific about it.

The rooms are reasonable but they look much nicer on the website.

The room and en suite are clean.

The tv is tiny, ancient and might as well not be there.

The room was a little bit cold.

The worst aspect is the fact that the Wifi does not work.

They hand you a little disclaimer slip with the Wifi passcode saying that they are not liable for the unreliability of the service.

The service is not unreliable, it does not work at all...

Wifi is not a luxury in the UK in this day and age and I actually feel cheated by their advertisement of its availability and arriving to find that it 'does not work'.

And the patrons do not seem approachable at all.

Would I come here again?
No.

I would spend a little bit more and have a more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibbtta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ashton Guest House, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We agree Wifi is not a luxury these days and we also feel it is something that Guests should not be charged for.

We Pay BT to provide our internet service which is available, Free of charge, to all guests.
As this service is provided by a third party, if there are any problems with the service, this is out-with our control. We can report a problem but we have to wait for BT to fix it. On occasions problems in connecting to the net have been due to the software used by the individuals laptop and also the age of the laptop. There is information included in our Guest Information folder in all rooms which gives advice if you are experiencing connection problems (i.e. suggestions of which web-browser to use etc). Some guests have found by just changing there Browser they are able to access the service with no problems.

Other guests who stayed at the same time as yourself, experienced no problems with the service.

Did you try any of the various local establishments which also offer free wifi Hotspots?
If so, did you laptop work there?

We apologise if you felt ‘cheated’ by a service which is provided free of charge to all our guests and which the majority of our guests use with no problems at all.

The colour television with freeview which was in your room was an adequate television for the size of the room and was situated with easy viewing from the chair provided, however this has now been upgraded.

Ashton Guest House is part of a semi-detached building. The left hand side of the building is privately owned flats over which we have no control in relation to appearance.

With reference to the room being a little cold - did you turn the dial on the radiator which is in the room? Once a guest has checked in, then the temperature in the room is the responsibility of the guest as all rooms have room controlled heating, which can only be adjusted by the person staying in the room. Had you mentioned you felt cold to any staff member they would have assisted you by showing you how to adjust the radiator temperature.

Your comments regarding not staying again are accepted and agreed, as we want all our guests to have an enjoyable, comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

A well located B&B close to centre and great for visits to student quarter. I paid £32 for a single room en suite and was given a double room ensuite. Spacious, good value, clean and reasonably well equipped. Quiet and I had an excellent night's sleep.
Downside was a manager who had clearly escaped from a bad B-movie. Unfriendly, muttering to himself and never wanting to be disturbed. Arrived a few minutes late for breakfast and found dining room locked.

Room Tip: Ground floor at back was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights. He had made the booking over the telephone a month or two before, and I had separately called them to confirm the booking. We had asked for a double en suite room, but when we arrived, they told us it was a single booking. Considering we had both phoned up to check the booking, this was very frustrating. My boyfriend asked to speak to the manager who wasn't at all apologetic, and refused to give us any kind of goodwill gesture for the mistake. His attitude was 'like it or lump it'.

The building itself was in disrepair, very tatty and the lobby smelt stale.

The room was a twin, but it was grimy, with a broken television, stained pillows and paper thin walls which meant a terrible night's sleep. Thankfully one of the staff (a man named Victor) took pity on us and moved us into a double room for the remainder of our stay. This room was better, but the decor was dated, the furniture cheap and the bathroom had mould.

For breakfast you have to fill in a slip saying what you would like and when. We stated that we would be down at 8.30am. We arrived 10 minutes late and were told we couldn't have breakfast! They wouldn't budge, were completely inflexible and we found them to be rude and obnoxious. On the final day, I ordered soft boiled eggs which arrived as hard as cricket balls. They had obviously been stewing for a long time. Disgusting.

I wouldn't recommend this guest house to anyone. I've stayed in a lot of budget accommodation over the years, which has at least been clean with friendly staff. These people were just downright rude. Stay away at all costs!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallymavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ashton Guest House, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your comments.

Whilst your partner did make an initial telephone enquiry, he did not make any form of booking.

He indicated he wished to make a booking, but it is our policy to take Credit/Debit card details or a deposit to secure/hold the room. Your partner did not wish to give his card details and, despite also being given the option of paying a deposit of one nights charge by cheque or Paypal, he refused all of these. Subsequently, he was informed that we could not accept a booking from him on this occasion. He advised that he would ask yourself, his partner, to call and give your card details. It was explained clearly to him during the conversation that he did not have a booking with us.

When you subsequently called, several days later, you stated you were calling to provide card details for a booking for a Mr K. Our staff member took this to mean the booking was just for Mr K (i.e. one person, a single room). You quoted the dates required and a price was confirmed with you. There was no mention of the booking being for two people and you did not question the price quoted, which was the rate for a single room.

The booking was only made upon your calling, and not Mr K’s call, and was recorded as a single ensuite room. Although the booking was recorded as a single ensuite room, the room you were provided with was actually a Twin ensuite room. As the room provided is for two persons and an alternative room with Double bed was offered for the following two nights, no goodwill gesture was offered.

The Double ensuite room you were offered for the following two nights was about to undergo renovation and this was explained to your partner when he went to view it. He inspected the room and ensuite and accepted it on behalf of both of you. Since your stay the room and ensuite room have been renovated. Whilst, the furniture has been replaced, the furniture which was available during your stay was very usuable and practical for a double room.

We operate a very successful pre-ordering system for breakfasts. This involves guests filling in a slip the previous evening to indicate what they would like for breakfast and at what time they would like it SERVED.

For the vast majority of our clientele this works very well as many people are here for a reason, whether on business or as a tourist. It means they know exactly what time their cooked breakfast will be served and they can then plan their day, rather than arriving in the dining room and having to wait while the breakfast is cooked.

All our food is cooked from fresh to order, we do not hot-hold food, as we believe this spoils the ingredients.

You ticked that you would like soft boiled eggs served at 8.30am and our chef had them timed to be soft boiled and ready for serving at that time. However, as you did not arrive in the dining room for a further 10 minutes, it is quite evident that the eggs would no longer be soft boiled. Even the best chefs in the world cannot keep a boiled egg soft for 10 minutes.

I took the initial call from Mr K when he made his enquiry and indicated he wished to make a booking. I gave him ample choices of how a deposit payment could be made and explained how we take card details to secure the booking, (but nothing is charged at that time), so he could make a confirmed booking, but he refused all my suggestions.

Although you appear to be under the impression your partner had made a booking, this was not, in fact the case. No booking was ever made by Mr K.

We went out of our way to assist Mr K when he wished to make a booking, but he refused every method which was offered to him to pay a deposit. We also provided an alternative room, once the discrepancy had been discovered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have stayed in this guest house 4 times now and have always found it to be clean and the staff are helpful. The highlight is the breakfast chef on weekdays who is always smiling and willing to recommend places of interest and really good lunch time restaurants. Plenty of parking at rear of hotel and within 5 minutes walking distance of the city centre.
Rooms are bright and airy and the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Room on the left at top of stairs has cracking views of tay bridge and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.0 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.9 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 30 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Guest House

Property: Ashton Guest House
Address: 40 Roseangle, Dundee DD1 4LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ashton Guest House in Dundee, we are committed to providing affordable accommodation in Dundee.Situated in the West end of the City of Dundee, the Ashton Guest House is ideally situated. Just a few minutes walk from Dundee City Centre, City Square, Dundee's two Universities - Dundee University and Abertay University, Dundee Technology Park, Dundee Railway Station and Airport, Dundee's cultural quarter and the popular Perth Road with its own variety of shops, pubs, theatres & restaurants.An excellently located Guest House, offering great value for money. Ensuite & Standard rooms available. All prices include breakfast, free wifi and private parking.Our Ethos is to ensuire ALL our guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay.Dundee University main campus including Dundee University Admissions and Student Recruitment, Airlie Place is just a few minutes walk away.Close to the heart of the City, private off street car parking is available, making the Ashton Guest House an ideal base for touring Scotland or just a short break to discover the delights of Dundee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashton Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing