We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashton Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
26
13
11
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
13
11
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsensuite roomcity centrestayed here for nightsdundee universityone night staygood sizeaccommodationbreakfastwifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A basic guest house with rather tired decor.Clean and friendly enough and close by town centre with ample pubs and eating facilities nearby.Fairly quiet location not far from the university campus.Wifi signal(free to use) was intermittant as was the signal to the freeview tv in the room.Large open dining room but rather concerned over the broken artex above the tables(possible ACM).Breakfast: fairly limited choice of three cereals,fruit juice and the usual fry up options.Dont be expecting smoked salmon of a fish option.We ate out at Spice resturant(Indian)which was nice and friendly and Laings pub which was very busy bit again nice enough food and reasonably priced.The Guest house was value for money but not recommended for a long stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the room in the roof.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My Visit at Ashton guest House was for my work. The breakfast was lovely and all staff very chatty.

My room was far too big for 1 person which was lovely, lots of space. Wifi also very good.

Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Angela-Garrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Terrible welcome (I use the term loosely), horrible smell of damp, fried food and goodness knows what else when you enter the building, two tone green and dark red awful decor. Rooms functional but facilities are scarce - no soap or toiletries, hair dryer. TV in the room but positioned at such a strange angle it is difficult to see.
Breakfast is not very apetising both in terms of the food or the decor in the basement dining room. Lorne sausage completely uncooked and after being sent back to the kitchen (to the surprise of the proprietor) it came back looking much the same putrid pink colour. Service is atrocious and clearly they have never stayed in a decent guest house. This is a bit like Fawlty Towers without the fun.
On the plus side it is near to Dundee town centre, the bed itself was clean, the rooms are warm and the shower is good if you don't mind the mould and ancient, grubby bathroom carpet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IngyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank You for your comments.

Firstly, we would like to apologise if you felt your welcome was not as it should have been.

Our latest advertised check-in time is 10.00pm. We had agreed with the pleasant gentlemen who booked on behalf of your group that check-in would remain open until 11.00pm so you could all check-in. However it was closer to midnight by the time your group did arrive to check-in. Our Manager was endeavouring to check the four of you in whilst trying not to disturb our other guests, and you may not have received our usual one-to-one service.

We do apologise if our décor is not to your taste. However, it is light and airy, which is important in the Guest House Hallways and stairways. Guest rooms are all decorated in a neutral colour. Whichever colours we choose we are never going to be able to please everyone as everyone has personal tastes.

We do apologise if you are offended by the smell of food. However, at the Ashton Guest House we allow all our guests who wish to, to bring their own food back in the evenings and eat it in the Guest House. We provide plates, cutlery, a microwave, fridge and seating area for this purpose. This is something that is appreciated by many of our guests who do not feel they wish to eat out every evening. On the night you arrived, two guests had just returned used plates to the dining area, so there may have been a temporary aroma of food in the hallway.

All our rooms have a guest information folder, prepared by ourselves, which guests are encouraged to read as it includes information about the Guest House, the facilities we offer and visitor information for places to visit and transport links in Dundee and the surrounding areas. In this folder we list the facilities we provide which include:- Hairdryer, Handsoap, Hair & Body Wash, Irons & Ironing boards, Cots, High chairs etc.
Whilst Irons & Ironing boards are available upon request from reception, all rooms are equipped with Hairdryers, Handsoap and Hair and Body wash . Hairdryers are located in the top drawer of the chest of drawers and toiletries are provided in all shower rooms. If any of these items were missing from your room this could have easily been addressed if you had reported this to reception or any member of staff. If a hairdryer could not be located within the room you would have been offered another as we do have spares, a short walk away, at reception.

Although you were booked in to a single room, you were upgraded to an ensuite Twin room. As this room is for two people there are two chairs within the room. The Television in the room is positioned for viewing from the two chairs provided and we do not understand how you found the television difficult to see when it is directly in front of the chairs, the ideal viewing angle.

We do apologise if you felt you did not enjoy your breakfast. However, to state ‘Lorne sausage completely uncooked’ implies it was served to you raw. As a provider of Food we have to adhere to all the relevant Food & Hygiene regulations. These regulations include the temperature to which food should be cooked and served and how food should be tested to ensure this standard is met. Our chef has been in the catering industry for over 30 years so, to say the least, he was surprised when the lorne sausage was returned. Another lorne sausage was cooked, checked visually and probed to ensure correct serving temperature. We vigorously disagree with your comments regarding the Lorne sausage.

Of our seven ensuite rooms, we only have two ensuites within the guest house which still have carpets. Although carpets are not ideal, ours are clean and hygienic, and we are endeavouring to change all ensuite flooring to a more user friendly type of surface. In the meantime, we ensure all ensuites are kept clean, with regular deep cleaning of carpets, showers, toilets etc. The room you occupied had both the room carpet and ensuite carpet deep cleaned after the previous guest left, so we also disagree with your comments regarding the cleanliness of the ensuite carpet and your comments regarding mold. All rooms, including ensuites are thoroughly cleaned and inspected on a daily basis.

We want all our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us. If you were unhappy with your room, you did not let staff know, so there was no opportunity for us to rectify your problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The location is a short walk's distance from the city centre and is good.

The building has obviously seen better days but there is nothing horrific about it.

The rooms are reasonable but they look much nicer on the website.

The room and en suite are clean.

The tv is tiny, ancient and might as well not be there.

The room was a little bit cold.

The worst aspect is the fact that the Wifi does not work.

They hand you a little disclaimer slip with the Wifi passcode saying that they are not liable for the unreliability of the service.

The service is not unreliable, it does not work at all...

Wifi is not a luxury in the UK in this day and age and I actually feel cheated by their advertisement of its availability and arriving to find that it 'does not work'.

And the patrons do not seem approachable at all.

Would I come here again?
No.

I would spend a little bit more and have a more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taharca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for your comments. We agree Wifi is not a luxury these days and we also feel it is something that Guests should not be charged for.

We Pay BT to provide our internet service which is available, Free of charge, to all guests.
As this service is provided by a third party, if there are any problems with the service, this is out-with our control. We can report a problem but we have to wait for BT to fix it. On occasions problems in connecting to the net have been due to the software used by the individuals laptop and also the age of the laptop. There is information included in our Guest Information folder in all rooms which gives advice if you are experiencing connection problems (i.e. suggestions of which web-browser to use etc). Some guests have found by just changing there Browser they are able to access the service with no problems.

Other guests who stayed at the same time as yourself, experienced no problems with the service.

Did you try any of the various local establishments which also offer free wifi Hotspots?
If so, did you laptop work there?

We apologise if you felt ‘cheated’ by a service which is provided free of charge to all our guests and which the majority of our guests use with no problems at all.

The colour television with freeview which was in your room was an adequate television for the size of the room and was situated with easy viewing from the chair provided, however this has now been upgraded.

Ashton Guest House is part of a semi-detached building. The left hand side of the building is privately owned flats over which we have no control in relation to appearance.

With reference to the room being a little cold - did you turn the dial on the radiator which is in the room? Once a guest has checked in, then the temperature in the room is the responsibility of the guest as all rooms have room controlled heating, which can only be adjusted by the person staying in the room. Had you mentioned you felt cold to any staff member they would have assisted you by showing you how to adjust the radiator temperature.

Your comments regarding not staying again are accepted and agreed, as we want all our guests to have an enjoyable, comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

A well located B&B close to centre and great for visits to student quarter. I paid £32 for a single room en suite and was given a double room ensuite. Spacious, good value, clean and reasonably well equipped. Quiet and I had an excellent night's sleep.
Downside was a manager who had clearly escaped from a bad B-movie. Unfriendly, muttering to himself and never wanting to be disturbed. Arrived a few minutes late for breakfast and found dining room locked.

Room Tip: Ground floor at back was good.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews