We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy Birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Happy Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have not had the best of years this year so for my Birthday this year I decided to take a weekend away in Dundee to unwind. Living in Aberdeen it is just a short drive away and despite what people think Dundee will always hold a special place in mine and my wives thoughts as our daughter was born there 2 years ago. Having read the reviews on here and visiting the very plush website we decided on the Apex City Quay Hotel and Spa. Working in the Marine Industry I am a massive fan of any establsihment which offers a view of a waterfront and this hotel did not disappoint! To be honest I or my Wife could not fault anything with this Hotel, the Staff, the Decor, the Atmopshere, The Room, everything was brilliant and we will definitley be coming back here when we visit Dundee again! For those who turn their noses up at Dundee they are sadly mistaken because this Hotel is fanastic, as iis the Wharf around it. A lot of Money is being spent to modernise Dundee and they are doing a great job so far.......

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Barry S,

Many happy belated retuns, and I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us. Dundee is certainly changing and has lots to offer and with a £1 Billion investment programme under way is certainly a destianation to book.

Thanks again, and hope to see you for your next birthday, if not before.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    933
    213
    70
    28
See reviews for
417
1,046
81
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked the day before as we had had enough of this rain , we were very impressed with the staff, the hotel was very clean , the bedroom and bathroom were spotless, especially the bathroom , for a budget hotel and the price we paid anyone who complains must very picky,
From the very friendly staff to the quality and quantity of dinner and breakfast , there was nothing to complain about , only to compliment .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Hairy48

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and I was pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable time with us. Just to let you know that the Apex Dundee is not a budget hotel / brand, even though we have had some cracking offers on over the Summer period adding value to the over all experience.

Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Our first stay in an Apex hotel...and it wont be our last! Check my photos out!
You wont feel intimidated or feel out of place(if like me you usualy travel with kids and opt for travelodge etc) as the staff are very friendly here and make you feel as important to them as the next person!
Perfect location! Superb comfy beds with thick plump feather pillows and cushions!
We managed to check in a couple hours early as our room was ready, which was fantastic! We couldnt wait to get into our room after seeing what reception looked like. When we got up to our room we were blown away. Modern,clean,spacious with nice touches here and there...not to mention our free duck waiting there!
We had a 3 course lunch in the metro bar for £12.95 which was fab! We were seated at window and courses were brought without delay. I loved the taste and look of them that much, the camera had to come out before i ate- to the embarrasement of OH. Staff again brilliant at what they do best.
Cocktails at night were lovely. Priced between £5-£7. As was the atmosphere, as we sat on the comfy sofa at window drinking them. We got an ice bucket from bar before we went up to our room as we had brought fizz with us.
Didn't have breakfast here so cant comment on that. We went to lloyds No1 bar 2 mins away from Apex(across road near shops) and had coffee and roll for £1.99(JD wetherspoon pub).
Reasons to book:
-staff brilliant
-room modern,clean and spacious.
-room service option so have your meal/drinks brought up to you if you wish. Even if at 4am you want a pizza!
-£10 voucher to use as you please while there if book direct. Making your room even better value.
-comfy bed for a good nights sleep.
-free duck ha ha.
-nice Elemis toiletries.
-spa/pool for added luxury
-fab bar and restaurant.

Only negatives was the bath took ages to fill, shower wasnt very powerful and room could do with air con, as room very hot which seemed strange being next to water and in scotland, ha ha. Window wide open solved the heat problem though.

Cant wait to return and stay in other Apex hotels!
We would like to thank all staff at Apex! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatandSteven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear steven f,

Thanks for your fantastic review following your stay with us, which I have shared with our team. You will find the same high levels of service and standards in any of our other hotels located in Edinburgh or London. Just check out our web site for some great rates.

Hope to see you back in Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for the weekend at the Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, the hotel is very modern and clean, when we arrived we were checked in quickly, we were in room 113 the room had a very large bed, 42" TV with freeview, hairdryer, iron + board, tea and coffee facilities and alarge bathroom with bath and walk in shower. Our room had floor to ceiling windows a nice view of the docks. My wife used the Spa facilities and was very impressed with the service she got, we also used the restaurant for dinner and breakfast the quality of the food was superb. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough the staff are very freindly, polite and professional. Thanks again to the team at the Apex for a lovely weekend we will be back again 5*****.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordonmc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Gordonmc6,

Thanks for the great review and for recommending our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Knd Regards,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Never stayed in an Apex hotel before not sure quite what to expect, but no worries, reception dealt with us smartly although very busy and was allocated an executive room on the first floor, good sized room with a panorama window looking out onto to the quay, well furnished with a large comfortable bed 2 rather nice arm chairs, work desk and chair and plenty of storage, the bathroom was well fitted with both bath and walk in shower ,very nice toiletries and all very clean. We dined in the hotel and found the staff very pleasant, the food was really very good and well presented, the prices here we found to be average for this type of hotel the drinks the same. At breakfast the staff were efficient and the cold and hot food were well presented with plenty of choice, we both left clean plates. Plenty of free parking. We enjoyed our stay here and will probably be back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluebell1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear bluebell1778,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel, and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Apex have 4 fantastic hotels in Edinburgh and 3 in London, so if you are considering a visit to either of these citys, check them out as they have some great rates.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Receptionists were friendly, but forgot to give me the £10 voucher promised for a direct booking, although this was soon rectified. The hotel was full so an early check-in was not possible, but the room was ready at the appointed hour. I had paid for the room in advance, and I liked the option of NOT opening an account and paying for extras in cash. Unfortunately, on check out, the computers weren't working, and I had a short wait.

I'd booked a double double (i.e. two double beds), and this was a nice sized room. The beds had plenty of cushions and pillows, but both bed and cushions were too soft to my taste. The biggest problem with the rooms was the lack of air conditioning, perhaps not considered to be required in Dundee, but the hotel is warm, and in the summer, the rooms are too hot for comfort. Luckily the window opened, but this didn't make the room cool enough for sleep to be comfortable. The rooms were well appointed and tastefully furnished. There was a large flat screen TV with freeview, hairdryer, two phones, two easy chairs, generous tea and coffee, a safe, lots of cupboard space, and an (empty) minibar. The hotel guide was excellent, and room service was comprehensive and priced equal to the restaurant.

The bathroom contained a separate bath and walk-in shower, stocked with Elemis bath gel and shampoo, and a cute rubber duck. Like the room, the bathroom was very clean, but the tiling in the shower needed a clean from limescale build-up.

The spa facilities were excellent, as were the treatments we booked. Check out my blog at
http://www.doctorspa.org for a full review.

We were planning to eat in the restaurant, but weren't inspired with the menu. Nor were other guests, it seems, as the hotel was full, but the restaurant was very much not. Pricing was high for what was essentially gastro-pub food, the menu felt incoherent and the dishes weren't exciting. This felt very different from previous visits some years ago. My recommendation would be for a Scottish/Japanese fusion menu, which would complement the spa's Japanese theme, and also compete well with other Dundee restaurants, where a good Scottish or Japanese restaurant is lacking. Over the road, there is an excellent Chinese buffet, Indian buffet and seafood restaurant, as well as a cheap pub that serves reasonable food.

Overall, a great stay, at a very reasonable price. A few tweaks needed though, to make it amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the Quay and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear psychstud

Thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that over-all you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will be using your feedback on our Brasserie when we change our menus in September.

Kind Regards,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

A good waterfront location, easy parking. Good service standards, nice modern rooms and good restaurant too. Ideal for business.

Room Tip: Top floors have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Letseat1,

Thanks for your great review, and we aim to continue to be Dundee's finest by remaining No 1 on Trip Advisor. We have a great team and product, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Victoria Road, Dundee DD1 1EL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing