We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recently stayed in the Apex for a weekend with friends. There were 10 in the party and the Hotel gave us 5 adjoining twin rooms overlooking the quay. Check in was efficient and friendly, and that high standard was maintained throughout our stay with the staff going out of their way to help us. As one of our party has significant dietary needs, we chose to dine in the Hotel on the first night, having seen that the Brasserie menu could be adapted. Stephen, our waiter was excellent. He was efficient, professional and friendly and discussed the menu with us and the kitchen to ensure we all had a wonderful meal. Unfortunately, we were disturbed in the small hours by guests in a nearby room. The Hotel dealt with the situation as soon as they were aware of the problem, and as a way of apology, gave us complimentary drinks the next day which was much appreciated.Our only complaint was that the rooms were very warm, but I have since found out that we could have requested a fan.The Hotel is in a good location, the rooms are well equipped, the breakfast is of a high standard and above all the staff are well trained, friendly and welcoming. Dundee is a lovely city and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    1,017
    241
    74
    32
See reviews for
480
1,148
89
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stated here for a business trip, but it was ideal; close to the town, quay side, both universities and local amenities. Staff were very friendly and informative. The gym and pool were great, offering some relaxation and a useful outlet if the weather becomes poor. our only criticism is that housekeeping was a little disappointing. A broken, dirty cup had been left under a cupboard, and missed again on the second day/night of our visit and the bins hadn't been emptied. On the whole though, a great stay, we'll be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RSJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at the Apex earlier this month on a visit to Dundee for a wedding.
The hotel had had good reviews so we decided to listen to the reviews and book!

The Apex is in a great location, walking distance from the town centre and the quay side.
The hotel is very clean and finished to a good standard. The staff were very helpful and gave good advice about the city and where we could find certain shops.
The rooms were lovely and very spacious. The bed was really comfy which meant for a good night sleep after a lot of dancing at the wedding.
Breakfast was a standard buffet however it wasn't the usual disorganised hustle and bustle. There was also plenty of option for every taste.
Parking was safe and secure and free for hotel guests.
This is a great city centre hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareyfairymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Arrived midday on Saturday and were pleased to be told there was a room available for us to check in early. Room was spotless and extremely big! This was great, it was spacious bright and would be perfect for long stays. The staff were extremely helpful and provided us with anything we needed. Free parking was also a bonus as other hotels we have been to have never provided this. Staff members were happy to validate our parking for as long as we wanting, allowing us to spend a day at the shops on the Sunday. A fantastic hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford west yorks England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ask for a waterfront room and enjoy the floor to ceiling view in the morning. Food in the restaurant was very good and excellent value for money; breakfast also excellent. The hotel is a lovely 10-15 minutes walk along the waterfront to Dundee train station.

Elemis toiletries and a cute rubber duck in the bathroom was a nice touch.

Pillows and beds were the comfiest I've ever slept on!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room and enjoy the floor to ceiling view in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a deal with master suite, dinner and breakfast.

Room was spacious and great views, however pretty grubby. There were (food?) marks on the floor and it hadn't been fully swept or mopped. Clumps of hair under the sofa for example.

Decor was getting tired with a lot of water marks and scuffs on walls etc.

There is no real control for temp in the rooms either. Appreciate being top floor you get all the heat from lower rooms but it really was so uncomfortable. Windows, rightfully so given the height, only open a fraction. Rooms are not air conditioned. There is forced air but it is very weak.

Food for dinner was ok, not great and not a great choice for the 'deal', that needs to be made clear at time of booking. Choice is very limited, especially of you are a veggie like myself, where there is only 1 option. Service also painfully slow. There was a wedding on in another part of the hotel as well so I'm guessing staffing was an issue, though reading other reviews this isn't an isolated incident.

We did complain about hairs in the food during our sweet course and we were given 40% off wine for that, so thank you.

Breakfast was great, good selection of continental and full cooked options.

We booked this as a 'wee treat' due to conflicting work schedules and wanting some relaxed time, no kids, dogs, work etc. We got it to a degree but not quite worth the £200+ we paid for the night.

Like most of my school reports 'has potential but could do better'.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keefletrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Keefletrucker,

We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent in this case we fell short. For that I apologise. We take pride in delivering the very best hospitality that we can, but clearly we were not up to standards on this occasion.

I would however welcome the opportunity to alleviate your concerns and should you be returning to Dundee in the near future, please contact me directly at stuart.grant@apexhotels.co.uk as I would be delighted to hear from you.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

FRIENDLY HELP FULL STAFF Clean spotless room comfortable bed .Very enjoyable dinner not to pricey.Staff even went to our room 3 hours after checkout to recover some stuff we had left behind
Staff on reception allowed me to phone breakdown crew for my car which decided not to start

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing