We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day and lunch. What a treat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Monifieth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spa day and lunch. What a treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter treated me to a spa day and lunch at the Apex hotel. Great facilities in the spa. Lunch was lovely and price reasonable. After lunch we enjoyed an amazing massage. Well done girls you gave us such a treat. Spoilt us. Just fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarthurmargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    970
    221
    71
    29
See reviews for
435
1,086
84
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights last week. On arrival we were upgraded to a larger room overlooking the quay. The room was spacious, with all amenities . The buffet breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice. The dinner menu although a little pricey had a good choice and we ate there every night. As a special treat one day we had the afternoon tea which was splendid. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is well placed for walking into the town. Would certainly return to the Apex if we are in Dundee again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Southernsoftie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just held a major fundraising event here with a very demanding variety of acts and events. The staff of the Apex could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble, even in some testing circumstances - and everything was done with a smile and a cheery word. The open foyer lounge is a particularly good, flexible space with lovely ambience for all the general meeting, greeting, regrouping, pre and post event mingling, food, drink ... Perfect. Guests expressed their amazement at the size of the coffees (huge!) and cake that seemed to come with every order. Special mention to Claudine and Kim. Thanks for all you did to help make our big night such a big success.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clem44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay. Excellent spa and leisure facilities, good food, great room. Well up to expectations. The one thing it still needs, to make it five stars, is air con in the bedrooms because the room was too hot. A great stay in a city which increasingly impresses!

Room Tip: The executive rooms overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my fiancé at the beginning of June. The rooms are lovely and modern with plenty of space. The location of the hotel is very central to the shops and we ate at a restaurant nearby and had a few drinks. During our stay, we visited the spa area - we used the pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room. We had a lovely relaxing time and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stac240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Tried the Hotel for a short break starting on 30th May for three days. Rooms were very clean, modern and very comfortable with all usual amenities plus free WiFi and free bottles of water, would've liked an ice machine in the hall near lift for guests, really that is possibly the only thing that we could complain about as the staff were very attentive and nothing was a bother to them. All our food was excellent. The Hotel is positioned at the Quay and only a short walk to the City Centre shops and entertainment including The Discovery. Lots of work in process quite near the Hotel which did not affect our stay but when finished will further enhance the changes made up to the present time, certainly many changes since our last visit. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieMac95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Where to begin, a brilliant reception, staff are very warm and friendly, check in was smooth and efficient, we waited less than two minutes to be checked in.
The room was brilliant and spacious, we had a good view of the quay, I would highly recommend requesting an 'end of building room' on the quay side, as I felt our view could not be better (for the standard rooms).
The Apex is central in location, we were within 5 minutes of the high street and of the two main shopping centres, although with Dundee being such a small city this might not necessarily be such a strong selling point.
The breakfast in particular is of high quality, I'm saddened to say -much to my partners chagrin- proper scrambled eggs has prompted me to mention this aspect in a review!
For those on business or like me wifi junkies, the free wifi is of a good speed, faster than my home wifi at any rate.
Two sources of contention that I had encountered, the lack of air conditioning made the room a sweatbox, opening the windows did help, however this meant you had to endure the low hum of the nearby flyover road for the tay bridge, granted this is only a noticeable issue before 10pm and after 7am, but worthy of a mention in these summer months. The other issue -which sadly gives far too strong an indication of my personality- is the set menu (for those considering including dinner at £10 per person at the time of writing). For the main course, there were only 4 choices, Fish, Vegetarian, lamb or a special (lamb both nights we stayed). This lack of variety caused me frustration, however it is not a deal breaker - I would go back, just not with the dinner allowance/set menu.
Minor side note for those considering the spa aspect of the hotel (as we had), the range of treatments are good, however they are above average pricing, food for thought.

I thank the Apex staff for making my stay memorable, and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Room Tip: It is worth getting a quay side view, try to get a room in the corner on the side away from the flyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Victoria Road, Dundee DD1 1EL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing