We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were more than satisfied with the hotel. The staff were very helpful (especially at reception) even though the hotel was packed (it was graduation time and just before the area was locked down for the Commonwealth Games). The room was comfortable and clean with a lovely bathroom and toiletries (Elemis) but was a bit warm-there is no air conditioning-not normally a problem in Scotland but we were there during a mini-heatwave!! We had a problem with the TV-it switched on in the middle of the night by itself and we had trouble getting it to switch off. We reported it to reception and hopefully that gets rectified.The surrounding area is undergoing a lot of building work but 'it will be nice when it is finished' as they say. The location of the hotel is great-an easy walk into town and very near the Discovery Centre. I can't pass comment on breakfast as we did not eat in the hotel. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and we really like Dundee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank christinehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,803 - 1,809 of 3,002 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Decent room, however our shower had mould in it. The beds were very nice however and the rooms were a good size. I didn't like the flooring in the rooms with the wooden floor and the carpet floor which meant it felt less homely. The staff were very good and the service was also of a good standard.

Breakfast was very nice and I like the open plan of the lobby. However the room was a slight let down and it didn't have the wow factor.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Vinay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Vinay G

Many thanks for your review and I was pleased to read that your room was comfortable and that the staff were very good and the service was also of a good standard.

I must apologize if we were missing the WOW factor on your say and have spoken to my team to address the points that you have kindly raised.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

First impression on arrival: huge building site in front of the hotel. Lots of seagull poo on the outside and a design from the late 70s.
We asked for a quite room. The room was good (top floor, corner room) but located on the wrong side facing the building site and we also had a lot of traffic noise from the bridge.
The breakfast was OK but the service seemed to be more focused on cleaning up then supplying stuff. We were waiting for toast and coffee too long.
Room service was very unreliable. We had to call reception every evening because towels and other stuff were missing. Two light bulbs were broken and after giving notice, it took them two days to replace them.
Everything is a bit too aged to be worth a 4 star rating in my opinion.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan-Nicolas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Jan-Nicolas H

We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent in this case we fell short. For that I apologize. I will be discussing your feedback with my Housekeeper and Restaurant Manager to ensure that these opportunities are addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were only eating out and glad we went to the Apex Hotel. Very friendly restaurant staff and got the impression they really wanted to look after you. Food was lovely and not rushed. The hotel overlooks the harbour which was very nice. Well worth a visit .

Room Tip: Just book in plenty of time. Great place to chill out and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a change of plans for a stay in Perth we opted to stay in Dundee and found this hotel through Late Rooms. We got a deal for room only for the two of us for £63. We expected a small room for that price but the room was big and on the top floor overlooking the Tay and the bridges. The view is slightly spoiled by the Discovery Quay renovations going on at the moment but the room was quiet, apart from a seagull tapping at the window for attention. Thankfully it didn't do it during the night. The staff were very polite and helpful and the hotel was very clean. We didn't stay for breakfast as we'd been invited out for it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Del43f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and as always was made to feel welcome and treated as a valued customer. Staff are generally very well trained and keen to help and the rooms are spotless and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent which on a Sunday was buffet style. The food was plentiful and well cooked and serving staff very efficient as always.
The only down side was bar service after midnight the night before. A rush of 5 separate groups of customers within 5 minutes meant the person on the bar couldn't cope and had to send for reinforcements. The till was also changed half way through the queue of by now quite impatient customers. She served me my gin and tonics with two tiny half melted ice cubes and no lemon (the earlier round served by a colleague was exactly as expected and also included straws) nor could she work the coffee machine for another order. Not good enough and whilst this is the only example of poor service/training I have ever encountered in this hotel, it unfortunately spoiled what was otherwise an excellent repeat stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JDS339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The buffet breakfast has recently been changed at the weekend. There is now a wide selection of cooked food (fried or scrambled eggs, haggis, sausage, bacon , baked beans, fried tomato, potato scones, black pudding etc) and continental too. You can also have a plated (freshly cooked) breakfast too and there is also a la carte (the porridge with Drambuie is interesting!). The staff are attentive, welcoming and friendly. It seems clear they have taken notice of the earlier poor reviews and have made a real effort to improve. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing