We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, accompanied with family members who had also booked a standard room. Receiving an 'upgrade' email a few days prior to our scheduled arrival sent pre-arrival jitters. 'Upgrade' to a superior room with views over Dundee Quay for only £15/night? I think not as the 'standard' room rate we paid for wasn't exactly cheap.

After checking in, our family in a room a few doors down were met with a handy man busily painting their room. In our room, we were welcomed with a scruffily made bed - complete with pillows half hanging out of their cases. Cigarette burns in both the furniture and towels. The towels...that leads me to our unforgettable experience with...the towels. On day 2, arrived back to our room to find it serviced by house keeping, then to find no towels. Rang reception 3, maybe 4 times, only to receive no answer. Proceeded to go down to reception to ask for towels, where apart from one member of staff checking a guest in, the rest were 'busily' chatting away in the back office, we asked for some towels to be sent up. On returning to our room later that night...STILL not a towel to be seen. Then on day 3, return to our room, and supplied towels for only one (of two) guests. The towels also smelt like they'd been used in a kitchen recently. When 'extra' towels were delivered, we were met with an ever so friendly 'is there anything else that I can help you with' customer service 101 robotic question...infuriating itself in place at even a hint of an apology.

On our final night (a Friday), we were simply delighted to be woken by the 'Grahams Family Dairy' truck at 2.50am making an extremely noisy delivery, which at that hour, seemed to last for ever.

Apart from the location, this hotel hasn't really got a great deal going for it. It's dated and needs refurbishing. The bar has the ambience of a funeral parlour.

An AA 4* rated hotel? We beg to differ.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank review_h0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear review_h0tel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me and helps me monitor the service we provide.

We take our guest’s feedback seriously and act on them without a delay, in order to serve you and all our guests better. We would like to achieve excellence in all aspects of our Hotel and we would love to take your points and experience on board to get the services better.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next stay in Dundee.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,429
    1,030
    246
    75
    32
See reviews for
492
1,160
89
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel met my expectations in terms of the room, breakfast and staff. The rooms were a decent size and well furnished, the breakfast was slightly limited but make sure you enquire about what can be ordered from the kitchen, and the staff were very friendly (as expected in Dundee!). Use of the spa and gym is also very handy. Overall a good experience - what is necessary for a short break in a 4* hotel

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank keshavgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids UK
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I remember staying at this hotel when it first opened, so when a previous reviewer said it was dated and like something from the 70's, I checked and discovered it was built in 2003.

It is a modern hotel in my mind with large open lobby encompassing reception at the entrance and then on into the seating area and bar, beyond which is the dining/breakfast area.

The room we had was smart, but not flash. Large flat screen TV, free internet, free parking ( thank you!), Elemis toiletries, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, very large & comfortable bed, bath & separate shower cubicle, great buffet breakfast. Staff were friendly & helpful.

We had a view out over the Tay bridge. Yes, there is building work going on, but they are regenerating the water front area. The view is still pretty good though! See my photograph.

I have stayed in several hotels in Dundee over the years, but if I can get some sort of a deal at the Apex, I will always stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were more than satisfied with the hotel. The staff were very helpful (especially at reception) even though the hotel was packed (it was graduation time and just before the area was locked down for the Commonwealth Games). The room was comfortable and clean with a lovely bathroom and toiletries (Elemis) but was a bit warm-there is no air conditioning-not normally a problem in Scotland but we were there during a mini-heatwave!! We had a problem with the TV-it switched on in the middle of the night by itself and we had trouble getting it to switch off. We reported it to reception and hopefully that gets rectified.The surrounding area is undergoing a lot of building work but 'it will be nice when it is finished' as they say. The location of the hotel is great-an easy walk into town and very near the Discovery Centre. I can't pass comment on breakfast as we did not eat in the hotel. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and we really like Dundee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Decent room, however our shower had mould in it. The beds were very nice however and the rooms were a good size. I didn't like the flooring in the rooms with the wooden floor and the carpet floor which meant it felt less homely. The staff were very good and the service was also of a good standard.

Breakfast was very nice and I like the open plan of the lobby. However the room was a slight let down and it didn't have the wow factor.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Vinay G

Many thanks for your review and I was pleased to read that your room was comfortable and that the staff were very good and the service was also of a good standard.

I must apologize if we were missing the WOW factor on your say and have spoken to my team to address the points that you have kindly raised.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

First impression on arrival: huge building site in front of the hotel. Lots of seagull poo on the outside and a design from the late 70s.
We asked for a quite room. The room was good (top floor, corner room) but located on the wrong side facing the building site and we also had a lot of traffic noise from the bridge.
The breakfast was OK but the service seemed to be more focused on cleaning up then supplying stuff. We were waiting for toast and coffee too long.
Room service was very unreliable. We had to call reception every evening because towels and other stuff were missing. Two light bulbs were broken and after giving notice, it took them two days to replace them.
Everything is a bit too aged to be worth a 4 star rating in my opinion.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Nicolas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jan-Nicolas H

We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent in this case we fell short. For that I apologize. I will be discussing your feedback with my Housekeeper and Restaurant Manager to ensure that these opportunities are addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were only eating out and glad we went to the Apex Hotel. Very friendly restaurant staff and got the impression they really wanted to look after you. Food was lovely and not rushed. The hotel overlooks the harbour which was very nice. Well worth a visit .

Room Tip: Just book in plenty of time. Great place to chill out and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing