We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Rooms are freshly decorated and pleasant. Staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to assist. I arrived at midnight without a booking due to a family emergency and they made a room up for me. Staff also offered to assist with luggage as the lift was being refurbished.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel location is located in one in a poorer area of Dundee. The lift was out of order, the card keys did not work so return trips from the 2nd floor to reception had to be made. The room provided was located at the front of the hotel with the smoking hut just below and to the left of the room window. If the window was left open the room stank of cigarette smoke. This was only a minor irritation compared with the numerous guest that took refuge in the smoking shelter, getting tanked up from the on site bar. Shouting, screaming and swearing from about 9pm until the last of them cleared off at 6am the following morning. If you are looking for an experience where big fat gypsy weddings meets the hotel inspector then this is the hotel for you. Booked for 2 nights but one was enough, several other guests also voted with their feet.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauser03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback Mauser03. We are truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay. We require our lifts to be in full working order during your stay. However, in the event that a lift should break down, we would also expect the issue to be resolved in a timely manner so we apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. Unfortunately, it is not always possible to fully reduce the noise that our guests might experience from outside. However, we make every effort to minimise the noise that might be heard from outside the hotel so it is regrettable to learn that you displeased with the level of noise you experienced. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Perfect place to have a couple of nights break. Everything is clean, comfortable and convenient, staff are friendly and accommodating. With the added bonus of on site bar and buffet breakfast each morning, this hotel is great value for money if on a budget. Kids were made most welcome - even at night when we stopped for a few drinks in the bar area and you can order food up until about 9:30pm. Would definitely recommend this Travelodge - 10 minutes from City Centre, it is an ideal base for shopping, eating out or entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Night booked in Dundee Central, relocated to Dundee Strathmore Travelodge.

Here is a list of the things that went on during our arrival/stay at the Travelodge.

- no hot water at Dundee central, meaning we had to be rebooked into another hotel.
- receptionist (named Euan, very helpful) rebooked us into another travelodge 2 miles away
- taxis have been payed for which is good however this was still an inconvenience to us being further away from the city centre.
- as an apology, we had been given free breakfast for the morning.

- got to other hotel, booked into a double room as no more family rooms available. Two men had to share a double bed... this is the main thing that I was unhappy about. Finally after protesting we got given a cot bed, which collapsed in the night leaving my friend with a painful back the next day.
- the lift did not work, meaning we had to climb four flights of stairs every time
- no kettle in room, meaning we had to go back downstairs to get one. One we get supplied turns on and off at its own accord so is faulty. Not only that, the kettle splurged out water all over the table, another health and safety issue. This should be written off!

I was totally unhappy with this experience and this should not be called for especially considering we paid more for this room than we should have done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We’re really sorry to learn about the poor experience you had Alex G. It is regrettable you were relocated on this occasion; unfortunately we had an unexpected take up of arrivals at the hotel. Our hotel staff are trained in how to deal with such situations and will always try to reduce the impact on the customer by finding suitable alternative accommodation as close by to the hotel as possible and we will cover the cost of any additional travel expenses. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The staff were really busy when I was trying to book in, but they were really helpful and polite. I was given secure bike storage near the lobby. The free WI-FI in the bar area was very convenient, and the buffet breakfast was really good. The room was clean and comfortable, and the stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubhank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had to travel to Scotland quite unexpectedly for the funeral of a very dear friend. As we were staying at the Saltash Travelodge the excellent staff there helped us to make a booking at the Dundee Strathmore Ave Travelodge. We did the journey from Plymouth to Scotland with only a brief stop arriving in Dundee on the 10th March. Needless to say we were extremely tired. What a great surprise to find that this Travelodge has a bar and a restaurant. We had a couple of good Gin and Tonics and retired to very comfortable beds. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and the bathrooms very functional and bright. The following morning we had a good breakfast before going on our way. This Travelodge helped us get over a very tedious journey. I truly felt like it held a big welcomel for us. Thank you to all the staff who couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: Although on quite a busy road there is no noise from the road. The heating is very good and easy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Booked a room at short notice for one night and got it at a very good price. The hotel is clean and well kept (which can't be said for all Travelodges!) Staff were friendly and helpful. Although this hotel is slightly out of the city centre a short taxi journey at a very reasonable price got me too and from the city centre. Being that bit out of the centre means there was no noise during the night which made for a great nights sleep. Will be sure to use this hotel again when in Dundee over the more central ones!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Dundee
Travelodge Dundee
#17 of 28 in Dundee
162 reviews
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue

Address: 296A Strathmore Avenue, Dundee DD3 6SH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range: £26 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue Hotel Dundee
Days Inn Dundee
Dundee Days Inn
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing