We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a meal or a cocktail”
Review of The West House

The West House
Ranked #58 of 376 Restaurants in Dundee
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At The West House, we strive to create an environment that everyone can enjoy. We're dedicated to being the finest establishment around, we aren't a restaurant, we simply serve excellent food, washed down by stunning cocktails and beautiful wines.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal or a cocktail”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went here with a colleague for a post work dinner and drink and found it very pleasant. Food was nice and fresh and it has a nice menu. Cocktails are rather strong! Nice staff and I'll come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorrs_McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    19
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was pleasently surprised at the menu at West house as I was expecting pub grub. The menu was definately Bistro with the choices of fillinf for paninis etc. You can have smaller portions of pizza with potato wedges, sandwiches nachos and lots more. I was very impressed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sabees_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick bite”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Me and my friend always choose to come to here for a quick bite when in Dundee. It's out place to go. So this time is was again: good service, tasty affordable food and good atmosphere.
Will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Brilliant place to go for all occasions!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We have just been to the west house, four of us for a birthday. Aged 20-25. Our friend booked it as he walked past there all the time and it always is busy. We were dressed pretty casual but managed to fit in fine as there were some people dressed smart and some in casual and a range of ages even people in around their 70s at the bar. The decor is so cool and the menus are also awesome! We got cocktails and they do mock tails for drivers! It's very good value for money- and they do deals such as 2 for 10 on main meals on Sundays. We had pizza and you have the choice of your own toppings too. Dessert was also amazing! Only thing I would say is the music is quite loud and we are pretty loud people- so maybe it could be turned down a wee bit. And also pizza cutters would be a good investment. Even one per table! Everything else was brilliant the girl that was serving us on Wednesday night was lovely, long sleeved black top and shoulder length light brown hair. Maybe in her twenties? Thankyou for looking after us my friend had such a good birthday.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Went for a meal after work with a friend. I had pasta and friend had pizza and were delicious. Nice atmosphere and the staff were friendly. Prices were reasonable and I would go there again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheherizad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The West House also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to The West House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing